Preventitive care for XP Pro?

Copperhead 1

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2010
Hi, Just a few simple questions about the best overall software maintenance downloads for XP Pro SP3. I am running XP Pro on an older IBM ThinkPad Z60t. Currently, I am using the free addition of Advanced System Care for everyday maintenance. It seems to be quite good, but is there something better (and free) that I am overlooking? I am a rank novice at the tech game so I gotta keep it a bit simple for now. Any good ideas?

Copperhead 1

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2010

Hey, thanks a lot badge... I also am using Ccleaner, and I think it's a great product too. A couple ofs question about the "Wipe free space" option on that program... First, why use it?, and secondly, when using the whole cleaning tool & Wipe free space, at what level of security is it "wiped" or "cleaned" with? Is it like Dept. of Defense level? And finally, What does SSD? Again, thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience... Copperhead 1

Info.

Additional info.

Intel SSD Toolbox.

SSD=Solid State Drive

I use this drive on my personal system. Hard drive access is very 'quick'.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820167023&cm_re=intel_ssd-_-20-167-023-_-Product

intelssd80gb.jpg

Copperhead 1

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2010
OK, Ok, have yer fun, but I remember years ago that there was some hot-*** security overwriter that boasted D.O.D. level security overwriting. Isn't that basically what Ccleaner is doing on "Wipe free space"?

Yeah, that little gizmo you are using looks like it would be well worth it if you are working with a lot of large files, but I'm not and if I did purchase one, I wouldn't be able to take my girl out for a month. The wailing and nashing of teeth that would ensue puts me right off the idea all together