Question Problems with DDR Memory in Z390 Pro4 Board

Aug 16, 2020
My son has 4x4MB Corsair Vengeance LPX in an AS Rock Z390 Pro 4 motherboard. In trying to boot up another machine, he temporarily took out two of the sticks. In returning the two sticks to the Z390 Pro 4 board, it wouldn't boot. None of the pins appear to be bent and I'm fairly certain the cards have been removed and replaced properly (he's very careful). However, it's feasible that the two pairs of 4MB sticks may have been mixed up in the process and reinstalled in the wrong slots (one pair is V3.22, the other V5.22).

In thinking one of the sticks may be faulty, we've bought a new pair of 2x8MB Vengeance Pro. I've installed these in slots 2 and 4 of the board as per the manual and, whilst the cards themselves light up, the machine isn't booting. It also isn't booting with any combination of the older 4MB cards.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm a novice with PCs so any simple advice would be gratefully received.

My son has 4x4MB Corsair Vengeance LPX in an AS Rock Z390 Pro 4 motherboard. In trying to boot up another machine, he temporarily took out two of the sticks. In returning the two sticks to the Z390 Pro 4 board, it wouldn't boot. None of the pins appear to be bent and I'm fairly certain the cards have been removed and replaced properly (he's very careful). However, it's feasible that the two pairs of 4MB sticks may have been mixed up in the process and reinstalled in the wrong slots (one pair is V3.22, the other V5.22).

In thinking one of the sticks may be faulty, we've bought a new pair of 2x8MB Vengeance Pro. I've installed these in slots 2 and 4 of the board as per the manual and, whilst the cards themselves light up, the machine isn't booting. It also isn't booting with any combination of the older 4MB cards.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm a novice with PCs so any simple advice would be gratefully received.