Question Random BSODs ntoskrnl.exe, more frequent on startup and during heavy usage like gaming ?

Jan 26, 2024
Hi,

I have been facing this issue since past 10 months on my Asus TUF A15 2021- FA506IC Laptop.

Specs:
Ryzen 7 4800H
RTX 3050
16GB RAM
WD SN570 500GB M.2 NVMe SSD

What I did:
  • Clean installed Windows (three times)
  • Updated all the drivers
  • Ran Windows Memory Diagnostic and MemTest- Result: All good
  • Stress tested CPU and GPU- Result: All good
  • While testing SSD using Crystal disk mark BSOD(ntoskrnl.exe) was happening again and again. So I changed my SSD, after changing it Crystal disk mark ran successfully but main issue still didn't get solved
  • Changed the laptop's power adapter (in case of power issue)

Link to recent 5 system crash minidump files:
minidump

ubuysa

Distinguished
The dumps all point very strongly at RAM. There is no indication of any of these BSODs being third-party driver related. I appreciate that you've tested your RAM, did you do so with Memtest86 (free)? If not then please do so. Be aware that no memory tester can ever prove that your RAM is good, only flag it as bad.

When you run Memtest86, if no errors have been flagged after the four iterations of the 13 different tests that the free version does, then restart Memtest86 and do another four iterations.

Even if Memtest86 finds no errors, and if you have more than one RAM stick, then remove on stick of RAM and run like that for a few days. Then swap sticks for a few days. This will clearly show whether you have a flaky stick.
  • When you reinstalled Windows, from where did you source the drivers?
  • When you updated drivers, how did you do that?
  • Have you monitored the temperatures at all? If not, download HWMonitor (free) and post a screen shot of CPU and GPU temps both at idle and at full load. Laptops are notorious for overheating.
  • How did you stress test the CPU and GPU?

Jan 26, 2024