Jun 14, 2023
Hi everyone!

I built a new PC about a month ago and have been experiencing some crashes while gaming with this error being thrown:

dxgi_error_device_hung

I understand that this is related to the GPU hanging and Windows issuing a reset of the GPU driver.

Specs:

MB: AsRock B650 PG Lightning
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 7600X
RAM: G.SKILL Trident Z5 Black RGB 32GB(2x16GB) DDR5 PC5-48000 6000MHz CL36 F5-6000J3636F16GX2-TZ5RK
GPU: Gigabyte RTX 4090 Gaming OC (Using 3x8 pin with the adapter included with the GPU)
PSU: MSI MPG Gold A850GF
Storage: 1x NVME M.2, 1x SATA SSD, 1x 7200RPM HDD.

Initially, I got those crashes while playing Jedi Survivor and only at specific sections and upon checking steam discussions and forums, it seems like a lot of people a having the same with RT enabled, so I assume it's an issue with the game itself.

However, just a couple of days ago, I started playing Deus Ex: Mankind Divided and after playing for some time, the game will crash with the same error, which leads me to believe that it may be something hardware/driver related, even though some forums also have the same error present for this game.

I should note, that both games are using DX12. I researched further regarding the error specifically, not in relation to any game and found that there could be various reasons for this, one of them being RAM. Now, the RAM that I have is listed as supported on the AsRock MB page:

Though I am only seeing an XMP profile for 6000MHz in the BIOS which is what I'm using. Should there be an EXPO option available or is that irrelevant? I'm honestly not all that familiar with RAM and XMP profiles so I'm not sure what should be the case here. I did run a memory test from Windows which did not come back with any errors.