Discussion Smart choice for external USB drive

jeffshead

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2016
BACKGROUND:
I sometimes need to backup and restore drives to/from a USB external drive. Sometimes it's a simple file backup/restore and sometimes I need to create and restore an image. I recently had to rebuild a 2TB array where I performed a file backup/restore (VM's) and it took FOREVER (approx 6 hours) with a USB 3.0 WD My Passport Ultra 2TB drive. I was averaging 80 to 100MB/s.

Individual file sizes can exceed 400GB. I have very little experience with testing NVMe drives. I've read for large files it's better to go with NVMe drives that have DRAM.

I currently have two of these enclosures that I'd like to use but I would be willing to purchase a different enclosure if there's a major benefit in doing so.

I'm wanting a 4TB drive but I may be able to get by with a 2TB. Mostly USB-A but I would like to be able to connect to USB-C as well. I realize USB 3.0 is the bottleneck.

Questions:
It would seem the Samsung 990 Pro 4TB NVMe would be overkill in a USB enclosure (maybe I'm wrong) and heat may also be a problem. Should I be looking at NVMe in an enclosure or a ready-made USB SSD? What's the current "sweet spot" option for an external drive connected to USB 3.0 (sometimes 3.2) for reliable, fast, sustained writes without going true enterprise grade NVMe, which I can't afford?

90MB/s isn't bad and comparable to a speedy cloud service, but SSD over USB 3.2 can be 5-6x as fast. NVMe, SATA and now even pen drive doesn't matter due to the USB bottleneck.