Via C3 1ghz - anygood in a cheap laptop?

sciroccotune

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2005
Hello guys, newbie here - gotta question for ya all.

I have seen a laptop with a Via c3 Cpu at 1ghz. I know its slow but i dont really need to much speed, just want to work and listen to mp3/play vids from time to time.

What do you think of the C3 at 1gig? Will it at least compare to a p4 at a similar clock speed? or is it way behind?

cheers guys

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by sciroccotune on 04/28/05 03:18 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

TheRod

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2002
<A HREF="http://www.hexus.net/content/reviews/review.php?dXJsX3Jldmlld19JRD0zNTQmdXJsX3BhZ2U9MQ==" target="_new">http://www.hexus.net/content/reviews/review.php?dXJsX3Jldmlld19JRD0zNTQmdXJsX3BhZ2U9MQ==</A>

Based on that review, the VIA C3, compares to Celeron of same speed... Which means a VIA C3 1.0GHz would not be much faster than a Celeron 1.0GHz based system!

Ouch! It's very very slow! You should check for used laptop, you might get a faster one for the same price. Don't forget that playing DivX or MPEG video require CPU power, the VIA C3 might be enough, but it will probably barely do it.

-
GA-K8NF-9 / <b><font color=green>Athlon 64 3200+</font color=green> @ 3800+</b>
Infineon DDR400 (CL2.5) 2x512Megs
<font color=green>GeForce 6600GT 128Megs</font color=green>
<A HREF="http://www.getfirefox.com" target="_new">Firefox</A>

sciroccotune

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2005
Thanks for the link, The only thing is i can get hold of a laptop with the c3 cpu, 256 ram, cd/dvd rw. 40gb hdd and 4xusb2 for 279 including shipping!!

If i add a wireless card to the mini pci or just use USB then its a good internet/work machine.

The_I

Distinguished
Oct 15, 2003
I doubt you could add a wireles to the mini-pci unless the labtops specs states that it's prepared for it. Such a card needs an antenna (that's usualy build into the monitor's frame) so you might have to settle with a PCMCIA-card or an USB-dongle.