Windows Home Server 2011 won't boot

Mar 9, 2018
Hello - I'm not very technically minded, but managed to build a Windows Home Server a few years ago. It has been running well...until recently when it shut down and now refuses to boot. I don't know what tests to run on it to find out why it won't boot, or how to get it to boot again. Worse still, the backup drive which took a daily copy of the system drive isn't detected when I try to restore the OS from it.

The server is based around a Gigabyte Z77-ds3h motherboard with an i5 processor, 8Gb of RAM and a 256Gb mSATA drive. The OS is WHS2011.

When I switch it on, I am presented briefly with the Windows logo then with the System Recovery Options box, from which I select UK keyboard, then click Next to get to the local user log on credentials, which I fill in and click on OK, then am presented with the choice of recovery tools (system image recovery, Windows memory diagnostic and command prompt). When I choose system image recovery, I am presented with a pop up dialogue box that says Windows cannot find a system image on this computer, even though the USB system back up drive is attached. If I click to select a system image, then select to search for a system image on the network, I can get to a Windows Explorer pop up and clicking on the drop down box shows that the C, D and E partitions of the system drive are detected, as is the backup drive. There is also an X drive called Boot. I've no idea what the D, E and X drives do - I didn't knowingly install them...I just followed the instructions to install WHS2011 on the C drive when I built the server and I think some process within that must have created these partitions.

Anyway, that's where I'm at, and I'm well and truly stuck. If anyone can tell me how I can fix the server without having to reinstall the entire OS and the various add-ins, I'd be very grateful.