16gb DDR3 Kit

arnett

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2012
Hi all, I've been lurking on Tom's Hardware for years but this is my first time posting. I am considering upgrading RAM considering the low prices and my current situation of having a little extra cash. I don't really know if I need to, I understand that 16gb is not necessary. But if it won't hurt me I am willing to throw the money down and populate the slots on my MB.

My specs:
ASUS Maximus III Formula Mobo
Intel i5 750
OCZ Reaper DDR3-1600 4gb (2x2gb) : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227320

I assume this is the only necessary information when considering a memory upgrade, if not let me know.

If anyone has some suggestions on a good 16gb kit of equal or greater quality to what I have now I'd be very appreciative. I really don't know if the RAM I have is what I want for my setup, I was sort of winging it when I put this PC together. If it would be better for me to settle for 8gb or 12gb and just add to the RAM that I have I would do that, but I assume there are better choices now.

Thanks ahead of time for your input.

-Arnett

Newegg must have had too many returns and dropped some or all of their ocz. Here's a good value upgrade. I wouldn't mix it with the ocz, but it might work anyway. Newegg link broke when editing post. The link is for gskill ripjaws 1600 8 gb for $44.99. 8 or 12 gb is plenty.

duxducis

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2007

arnett

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2012
A few questions I have:

Geek, you say I have enough RAM. Do you think above 4gb is COMPLETE overkill?

o1die, why wouldn't you mix that with the current OCZ?

Finally, if my 4gb right now is completely all I need, is the RAM I have now good? I honestly picked it because it had the lowest timings I could find, and I recalled someone telling me low timings are good. I popped it in, checked it and it had what it claimed so that's what I've been running. I vaguely remember running memtest on it too.