2 Graphics Card Question.

onething1

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2011
Dear Sirs and Maidens,
To be honest, I'm a noob when it comes down to hardware. So I have a question that might be easy for you guys to answer. Currently on my system I have an ATI HD 5670. I am wanting to upgrade to a GTX 560 to better enhance my BF3 gameplay. And then I remembered that some people that dual graphic cards. So my question is, does the two graphic cards have to be the same? Or can I just connect the GTX 560 along with my HD5670? Aside from that, any type of suggestions?

Here's me specs:

Studio XPS 9100
12 gb ram(free upgrade from dell)
i7 930 @ 2.80GHz
HD5670
Win 7 64X

I'd greatly appreciate your help!

No definitely not. Specially not nvidea with amd. With nvidea it has to be the same type, like only a 560 with a 560, with amd you can mix more cards together.

Question is ; does your motherboard supports two pciex16 slots and is your powersupply powerfull enough, bit afraid it won't.

Can you tell the rest of your system, it's probably a Dell but what type.

Also what resolution do you use.

onething1

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2011

Oh I see. Well because of my budget i'll only be able to purchase one graphics card right now. The reason i asked is because i was wondering what to do with my 5670 after i get the GTX 560. I just used Speccy, and here's some other information:
Im using a 1920 X1080 Res

Motherboard
Manufacturer Dell Inc.
Model 05DN3X (CPU 1)
Version 00
Chipset Vendor Intel
Chipset Model X58
Chipset Revision 13
Southbridge Vendor Intel
Southbridge Model 82801JR (ICH10R)
Southbridge Revision 00
System Temperature 41 °C
BIOS
Brand Dell Computer Corporation
Version A02
Date 05/26/2010
Voltage
+12V 12.131 V
CPU CORE 1.524 V
VIN3 1.668 V
VIN4 1.212 V
+3.3V 2.308 V
VIN6 1.800 V
VIN7 1.656 V
VIN8 1.680 V
PCI Data
Slot PCI
Slot Type PCI
Slot Usage Available
Bus Width 32 bit
Slot Designation PCI1
Slot Number 0
Slot PCI-E
Slot Type PCI-E
Slot Usage Available
Bus Width Unknown