[SOLVED] 4TB vs 2TB M.2 PCle SSD // What's the best 4TB SSD?

mujmuj

Distinguished
Oct 11, 2015
I already have 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus SSD. But I am considering a bigger SSD because I am running out of space.

1. Are 4TB M.2 PCle SSD better than 2TB ones in terms of specs other than storage volume?

2. What's the best 4TB SSD? This is a simple table I assembled.

SabrentSeagateKingstonPNYTeamgroup
Memory3D TLC NAND3D TLC NAND3D TLC NAND3D NAND TLC
InterfacePCIe Gen4x4PCIe Gen4 ×4PCIe Gen 4.0PCIe Gen3 x4PCIe Gen3x4
Max sequential read70007300?730035003500
Max sequential write66007300?700030002900
TBW3000TB1275

I have zero knowledge in computer specs (which means when the number is high, I just guess it's good)

3. Is TBW useful? Good to be high on this?

If yes, then I wish I knew Kingston's TBW.

4. And Kingston's "Interface" is 4, not 4x4. Is that an important drawback?

5. This ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore is the motherboard that I currently have. Does this allow the maximum performance of these SSDs?

Solution
1. Are 4TB M.2 PCle SSD better than 2TB ones in terms of specs other than storage volume?
Typically higher capacity meant higher performance, but that only seems to apply to sub 1TB capacity drives. So no, there's nothing better spec-wise about a higher capacity drive other than capacity.

This is the manufacturer guarantee on how much data you can write to the drive before flash is considered worn out. While yes, higher is better, almost nobody in a consumer setting actually wears out their flash drive. My 500GB 970 Evo reports 14TB has been written to it over the course of 18 months. Samsung guarantees 150TBW. If this rate remains consistent (it won't), I have about 16 years...
I already have 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus SSD. But I am considering a bigger SSD because I am running out of space.

2. What's the best 4TB SSD? This is a simple table I assembled.

SabrentSeagateKingstonPNYTeamgroup
Memory3D TLC NAND3D TLC NAND3D TLC NAND3D NAND TLC