Question AIO pump speed adjustment - safe?

Feb 4, 2024
Hi

I got a Cooler Master MasterLiquid ML240L V2 RGB CPU cooler for my Ryzen 7800X3D. The cooler is otherwise working fine, but it makes subtle rattling noise that is audible since my rig is quite silent. The rattle goes away if I drop AIO pump speed to 90 % from 100 % using Asus Armoury Crate.

The question I have is whether there is any risk of damage to the pump from dropping its speed. Using Bing AI and Google I found some references saying that AIO pump speed should be adjusted if it is connected by a 3-pin connector to the MB (which is the case with my cooler).

The speed drop from 100 % to 90 % lowered RPM of the pump from 2400 to around 2300 but thermals seem unaffected. Since the noise level dropped significantly, I am tempted to run it at 90 % if there is no risk of premature mechanical failure.

Thanks in advance

Solution
"Ideal" solution here may be to find and fix the real cause. However, you have already a practical solution and a note of caution. To answer your question directly, there is NO potential for damage to your system by running the pump at a fixed speed just a bit slower than design. The main impact of this would be that the maximum heat removal capacity of that AIO system will be reduced slightly and this limits the very highest workloads your system can achieve. In fact, even that may not be affected if the AIO system actually has MORE heat removal capacity than your system can use. The other POSSIBLE impact is that you do not know the REAL cause of this, and thus whether or not it MIGHT cause slow long-term damage to anything. For...

punkncat

Polypheme
Ambassador
When installed in a board that I can control the pump speed I generally set at 80%. I set the rad fans to follow CPU temp just like they were the CPU fan, as really...they are. This should pose no issue.