bobsonroberts

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2008
Hey, so I am building my father a new PC strictly for the use of music. He wants to be able to load all of his cd's onto it and play them through it with good sound quality. I am kind of new at this so I would really appreciate your advice and need to know that everything is compatible.

I already have a Antec Sonata II and a MSI 7900 GT 256mb that I plan to use with this, here is the build I was looking at, please feel free to comment/criticize and suggest better options, as long as they are not much more expensive. He will be using this in a very small room which is why I was thinking the surround sound. If absolutely necessary we can get a new case and video card but I think these are sufficient.

I also need to know whether there is some kind of wireless remote he can get to change his songs without the mouse and keyboard.

MOBO: GIGABYTE LGA 775 Intel G31 $52.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6813128357

Processor: Intel Pentium 5200 Wolfdale 2.5ghz $69.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6819116072

Memory: G. Skill 2x 2gb 1066 (PC8500) $54.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6820231166

Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar 1TB Green 7200 rpm 32mb cache $89.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6822136317

Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 PCI Express $89.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6829132006

Speakers: Logitech X-540 70 watt 5.1 $76.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6836121006

Fans: 2x MASSCOOL 80mm case fan $3.58
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6835150007

The total on newegg comes out to $438.52 without tax or shipping. My dad wanted very nice speakers and I think that the X-540's will be good but I am not positive. I am also unclear as to what OS to get.

Thanks for the help in advance!

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2008
i just put that sound card in for a customer it sounds awesome.