Blue Evacuation - Instant

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

"Return all creatures to owners' hands."
We play "Non-tournament" magic.
Q: If creatures have 'creature enchantments' on them, do the
enchantments go with the creatures back into the owners' hands (if he
wants them to) or does he totally lose them to discard pile?
Q: Am I not right, that by the end of the turn that any cards over 7
then have to be discarded?
Q: When playing this instant Evacuation is it played on just one person
or all players, including the person playing the card?
Q: If my BROTHER has a Artifact Serpent Generator , does the 1/1
artifact creatures get affected by the instant, does he have the choice
of putting them into his hand or removing them to discard? Or are they
affected at all?
Q: Does creature enchantments that were on the creatures, stay on the
table (when creature goes back into your hand) ?
Q: If a player has two cards still in his hand,can he discard those and
pick up 7 creatures into hand?
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

,----[ Oracle (http://www.wizards.com/magic/comprules) ]
| Evacuation {3}{U}{U} Instant
| Return all creatures to their owners' hands.
`----

villagecat@webtv.net (village cat) writes:
> We play "Non-tournament" magic.

Well, the Magic rules work the same whether you're in a tournament or
not. Of course, if you're not in a tournament, you can change the
house rules you play with if you want.

> Q: If creatures have 'creature enchantments' on them, do the
> enchantments go with the creatures back into the owners' hands (if he
> wants them to) or does he totally lose them to discard pile?

All the creatures go into their owners' hands. A moment later, any
creature enchantments will find that they no longer have anything to
enchant, so they each go into their owners' graveyards.

> Q: Am I not right, that by the end of the turn that any cards over 7
> then have to be discarded?

At the end of a player's turn, that person has to discard down to his
maximum hand size (which by default is 7, but cards like Spellbook or
Thought Nibbler can change that).

So, the person who's turn it isn't gets to keep all those cards until
his own turn, but then at the end of his own turn he has to discard
down to 7.

> Q: When playing this instant Evacuation is it played on just one person
> or all players, including the person playing the card?

It's not played on a person (there's no "target player" anywhere), you
just play it. When it resolves, you do exactly what it says: Return
*all* creatures to their owners' hands. And "all" really means "all".

> Q: If my BROTHER has a Artifact Serpent Generator , does the 1/1
> artifact creatures get affected by the instant, does he have the choice
> of putting them into his hand or removing them to discard? Or are they
> affected at all?

Serpent Generator makes artifact creature tokens. Those tokens go into
his hand, and then vanish a moment later since tokens can only exist
in play.

The Generator itself, is of course not affected.

> Q: Does creature enchantments that were on the creatures, stay on the
> table (when creature goes back into your hand) ?

I think I answered this in your first question... The creatures get
picked up from under them, and then they go into the graveyard since
they no longer have their enchantee.

> Q: If a player has two cards still in his hand,can he discard those and
> pick up 7 creatures into hand?

If a player has 2 cards in hand and 7 creatures on the board, he picks
up all those creatures and ends up with 9 cards in his hand. At the
end of his turn, he has to discard down to 7. He may discard any of
those cards that he wishes.


Hope this helps. Please post again if you have any more questions.

--
Peter C.
"In a display of perverse brilliance, Carl the repairman mistakes a
room humidifier for a mid-range computer but manages to tie it into
the network anyway." -- The 5th Wave
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

village cat wrote:

> "Return all creatures to owners' hands."
> We play "Non-tournament" magic.

Er, and that makes a difference, how? Magic in tournaments plays
by the same rules as Magic anywhere else.

> Q: If creatures have 'creature enchantments' on them, do the
> enchantments go with the creatures back into the owners' hands (if he
> wants them to) or does he totally lose them to discard pile?

"Graveyard", not "discard pile".

When a permanent leaves play, any local enchantments on it that are
still in play themselves always go to the enchantments' owners'
graveyards as a state-based effect. Since the effect you cite
doesn't do anything to enchantments, the enchant creatures remain
in play for this rule to scoop them up.

> Q: Am I not right, that by the end of the turn that any cards over 7
> then have to be discarded?

You must discard down to seven at the end of your turn, yes.

> Q: When playing this instant Evacuation is it played on just one person
> or all players, including the person playing the card?

"All creatures" means *all creatures*, including yours. Everybody
goes bye-bye.

> Q: If my BROTHER has a Artifact Serpent Generator , does the 1/1
> artifact creatures get affected by the instant, does he have the choice
> of putting them into his hand or removing them to discard? Or are they
> affected at all?

It's a creature, it's affected. He doesn't get any choices, because
the card doesn't give him any. So Evacuation sends it back to his
hand. By the rules, any token permanent that leaves play disappears
entirely as a state-based effect--it can't exist anywhere besides play,
not even the graveyard. So Evacuation sends it back to his hand, and
then it evaporates.

> Q: Does creature enchantments that were on the creatures, stay on the
> table (when creature goes back into your hand) ?

As I said above, they go to the owners' graveyards, as a state based
effect.

> Q: If a player has two cards still in his hand,can he discard those and
> pick up 7 creatures into hand?

No, nothing in Evacuation says anything about discarding. You simply scoop
up all your creatures and put them in your hand. If that results in you
having more than seven cards in your hand, that's fine. If you still have
more than seven by the time you reach the end of your own turn, you'll have
to discard down to seven at that time, but until then, you can have dozens
of cards in your hand.

--
Christopher Mattern

"Which one you figure tracked us?"
"The ugly one, sir."
"...Could you be more specific?"
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

village cat sez (on Evacuation):

<<
Q: If creatures have 'creature enchantments' on them, do the
enchantments go with the creatures back into the owners' hands (if he
wants them to) or does he totally lose them to discard pile?
>>

Enchantments on all creatures returning to their owners' hands are put into the
graveyard.

<<
Q: Am I not right, that by the end of the turn that any cards over 7
then have to be discarded?
>>

Well, actually, you can only discard down to seven once: During the end phase
of a turn. You can't discard at any time "just because". And, in fact, you
could keep your entire library in your hand until your end phase.

<<
Q: When playing this instant Evacuation is it played on just one person
or all players, including the person playing the card?
>>

It's played on no player. There's no mention of player on that card. You do
exactly as it says: Return all creatures (in play, no matter who controls
them) to their owners' hand. ("Owner" is the person who had the creature in
their deck to begin with.)

<<
Q: If my BROTHER has a Artifact Serpent Generator , does the 1/1
artifact creatures get affected by the instant, does he have the choice
of putting them into his hand or removing them to discard? Or are they
affected at all?
>>

They're affected. They return to their owners' hand just like creature cards.
The difference is, tokens can't exist outside of the in play zone, so when they
get to the hand, they cease to exist just after they trigger anything that
would trigger on them returning to a hand.

<<
Q: Does creature enchantments that were on the creatures, stay on the
table (when creature goes back into your hand) ?
>>

You asked this already. :)

<<
Q: If a player has two cards still in his hand,can he discard those and
pick up 7 creatures into hand?

>>

Er, no. Like I said before, you can't discard "just because." Something has to
tell you to discard, and right now, nothing is. So you can keep all the cards
in your hand as well as all the creatures, even if there's more than 7 cards in
your hand, until the game TELLS you to discard down to 7 in your end phase.


----
If [Michael Moore] makes a mistake in [F 9/11], it's not that he's careless
with the facts ... It's that he suggests Bush is the cause of our problems,
when, in fact, Bush is just the result.
--The Libertarian Lessons of Fahrenheit 9/11
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Fri, 27 Aug 2004 01:26:52 -0500, village cat <villagecat@webtv.net> wrote:
>"Return all creatures to owners' hands."
> We play "Non-tournament" magic.
>Q: If creatures have 'creature enchantments' on them, do the
>enchantments go with the creatures back into the owners' hands (if he
>wants them to) or does he totally lose them to discard pile?

Evacuation doesn't say to return anything that's not a creature. The
creature enchantments stay in play momentarily, then find they're enchanting
something that's not there any more, and fall into owner's graveyard.

>Q: Am I not right, that by the end of the turn that any cards over 7
>then have to be discarded?

Correct, as Cleanup step begins.

>Q: When playing this instant Evacuation is it played on just one person
>or all players, including the person playing the card?

Does it say "Return all creatures target player controls to owners' hands"?
No. Does it say "Return all creatures you do not control to owners' hands"?
No, it doesn't say that either. It affects all creatures. [And because I
fear this will be the next question, "creatures" only exist in play; anywhere
else they are just creature -cards-, and a) Evacuation doesn't say it can
affect stuff that's not in play, and b) Evacuation doesn't say it can affect
creature -cards- that arn't in play. So it doesn't pick creature cards up out
of the graveyard or library in any way, no.]

>Q: If my BROTHER has a Artifact Serpent Generator , does the 1/1
>artifact creatures get affected by the instant, does he have the choice
>of putting them into his hand or removing them to discard? Or are they
>affected at all?

Token creatures are creatures; they get put into owners' hand. (Their owner
is the player who controlled the spell or ability that created them, in this
case your brother.) However: tokens can't exist outside of "in play", so
after going to your hand they cease to exist immediately afterwards; you
can't ever do anything with them before they disappear from hand. (Or
graveyard, or wherever an effect sends them from play.)

>Q: Does creature enchantments that were on the creatures, stay on the
>table (when creature goes back into your hand) ?

Nope. Local enchantments - ones that sit on top of something else - can't
stay in play if they're not attached to anything. (Or if what they are
attached to becomes illegal.) If this happens, they get put into owner's
graveyard immediately after the creature disappears out from under them.

>Q: If a player has two cards still in his hand,can he discard those and
>pick up 7 creatures into hand?

You can NEVER 'discard at will' in Magic. You can only discard when something
-tells- you to, or allows you to. Cards in your hand stay in your hand until
something says to put them somewhere else (casting a spell puts the spell on
the stack; playing a land puts the land card into play; being told to discard
puts the card into the graveyard; etc.). You can't just discard "because you
don't want the card in your hand any more". Similarly, permanents stay in play
until something tells them to go elsewhere. You can't do _anything_ in Magic
unless either a rule tells you to or allows you to, or the effect of a spell
or ability does.

Your hand can contain any number of cards; there's no requirement that if you
get more than 7 in it you discard right away. The only thing the rules say
on the subject is that you have to discard down to your maximum hand size
(usually 7) as your cleanup step starts. (second step in End phase)

So if Evacuation gets you to suddenly have 13 cards in hand, nothing in
particular happens because of that, and you're fine, _until_ the end of your
turn, when whatever you have left has to get shrunk down to 7 if it was more.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Simon Nejmann <snejmann@worldonline.REMOVETHIS.dk> wrote:
>Anyway. No, local enchantments (those that say "enchant <something>")
>go to the graveyard it their target (what they enchant) leave play.

Nitpick: Enchantments in play don't "target" anything. They are attached to
something, and "enchant" it, but sitting on top of something doesn't target
the something. Only spells and abilities on the stack can target.

>In the play zone - you don't return creatures from the graveyard to
>your hand.

You -can't- 'return creatures from the graveyard to your hand', because there
are never any creatures IN your graveyard. Ever. There can be creature CARDS
there - but "creatures" exist only in play.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.