Can i overclock past a 680?

PanicMaster85

Distinguished
OK so i was told before i bought my gtx 670 that i would have been able to overclock it past 680 stock at least... and now im being told otherwise, is this true? i have my 670 clocked at core-1241 mem-3512

PanicMaster85

Distinguished
Okay so yea your Power Edition card is already factory overclocked to my knowledge I would imagine yes you could push that card MSI cards have been great cards to overclock other than that the only gripe I have about your system is your ram man but you are addressing that smart man and nice deal on the ram by the way. Ha! I got my gold last night I so I'm a newbie :p Yea about not picking up on his signature ~bonks head~ But I'm glad you came to the light and got a intel chip its become a very difficult thing to recommend amd wise and that really saddens me because that is where I started with a socket 939 when AMD was taking Intel out back to do the dirty.
Do you get pretty good temps within your case?

PanicMaster85

Distinguished

yeah i get good temps with teh gpu(never above 62) but with my cpu clocked up to 3.3 im getting like 80+ with intel burn test so tahts why im getting water cooling have a thread right now about it :D

lol broken ankle hey now thats my 670 you are talking about :p The only real difference is the cuda cores 192 difference. You have the better value card my friend. Just a bummer that you probably cant water cool your card the power edition cards I believe don't have a water block for them if they do man do post it here I would love to pass it on to my buddy bigcyco1

PanicMaster85

Distinguished

ok so im confused will i ever be able to get better fps in everything than a 680 stcok? i mean i get 49.9 fps and 1258 on heaven so im not sure if that is good but..

Depends on the card....all 670s are not created equal.... here's the champ

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/GeForce_GTX_670_Direct_Cu_II/33.html