Clone and Vesuvan Doppleganger

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Hello.

A couple of questions.

Player A has a Morphling and Serra Angel in play and some untapped Islands.
Player B casts a Clone to duplicate the Morphling.
Player A responds by tapping and Island to make his Morphiling
untargettable.
What happens?


Next Question.
Player A has a Morphling and Serra Angel in play and some untapped Islands.
Player B has a Vesuvan Doppleganger which is already a duplicate of the
Serra Angel.
It is player B's upkeep and he switches the Vesuvan Doppleganger to copy the
Morphling.
Player A responds by making his Morpling untargettable.
What happens?
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

"Jimmy Wong" <j4389130@telus.net> wrote in message
news:Ox4Zc.80794$X12.12168@edtnps84...
> Hello.
>
> A couple of questions.
<snip>

Clone
{3}{U}
Creature -- Clone
0/0
As Clone comes into play, you may choose a creature in play. If you do,
Clone comes into play as a copy of that creature.

Vesuvan Doppelganger
{3}{U}{U}
Creature -- Doppelganger
0/0
As Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play, you may choose a creature in play.
If you do, Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play as a copy of that creature
except for its color and gains "At the beginning of your upkeep, you may
have this creature become a copy of target creature except for its color. If
you do, this creature gains this ability."
(what a wordy card!)

Morphling
{3}{U}{U}
Creature -- Shapeshifter
3/3
{U}: Untap Morphling.
{U}: Morphling gains flying until end of turn.
{U}: Morphling can't be the target of spells or abilities this turn.
{1}: Morphling gets +1/-1 until end of turn.
{1}: Morphling gets -1/+1 until end of turn.


> Player A has a Morphling and Serra Angel in play and some untapped
Islands.
> Player B casts a Clone to duplicate the Morphling.
> Player A responds by tapping and Island to make his Morphiling
> untargettable.
> What happens?

The Clone clones the Morphling. Clone does not target. It makes you choose
"a creature in play", not "target creature", so the Morphling is a valid
target for Clone at any time (barring any other effects).

> Next Question.
> Player A has a Morphling and Serra Angel in play and some untapped
Islands.
> Player B has a Vesuvan Doppleganger which is already a duplicate of the
> Serra Angel.
> It is player B's upkeep and he switches the Vesuvan Doppleganger to copy
the
> Morphling.
> Player A responds by making his Morpling untargettable.
> What happens?

Hmm....this one is trickier, but it seems as if the Morphling will become
untargettable, thus rendering the Doppleganger's ability useless. When the
Doppleganger comes into play, it doesn't target (like the Clone). However,
since it's already in play, and the upkeep triggered ability is targetted,
it will "bounce off" the Morphling. The Doppleganger will remain a copy of
the creature it was before it attempted to copy the Morphling.

Remind me not to play with Vesuvan Doppleganger. It's too wordy for me. 😉

--

KB

first initial last name AT gmail DOT com
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

"Jimmy Wong" <j4389130@telus.net> writes:
> Player A has a Morphling and Serra Angel in play and some untapped Islands.
> Player B casts a Clone to duplicate the Morphling.
> Player A responds by tapping and Island to make his Morphiling
> untargettable.
> What happens?

,----[ Oracle ]
| Clone
| {3}{U}
| Creature -- Clone
| 0/0
| As Clone comes into play, you may choose a creature in play. If you
| do, Clone comes into play as a copy of that creature.
`----

As Clone comes into play, player B chooses to copy the Morphling. He
then has a Morphling-copy. Since Clone doesn't target, Morphling's
ability doesn't do a whole lot of good.

> Player A has a Morphling and Serra Angel in play and some untapped Islands.
> Player B has a Vesuvan Doppleganger which is already a duplicate of the
> Serra Angel.
> It is player B's upkeep and he switches the Vesuvan Doppleganger to copy the
> Morphling.
> Player A responds by making his Morpling untargettable.
> What happens?

,----[ Oracle ]
| Vesuvan Doppelganger
| {3}{U}{U}
| Creature -- Doppelganger
| 0/0
| As Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play, you may choose a creature
| in play. If you do, Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play as a copy
| of that creature except for its color and gains "At the beginning of
| your upkeep, you may have this creature become a copy of target
| creature except for its color. If you do, this creature gains this
| ability."
`----

The copy-at-beginning-of-upkeep does target. If its target is illegal
when it tries to resolve (since its target is now untargettable), then
the ability gets countered. The Doppelganger stays a copy of what it
was.

--
Peter C.
Now if you'll excuse me, I have to get back to reality.
Wherever that is.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Jimmy Wong wrote:

> Hello.
>
> A couple of questions.
>
> Player A has a Morphling and Serra Angel in play and some untapped
> Islands. Player B casts a Clone to duplicate the Morphling.
> Player A responds by tapping and Island to make his Morphiling
> untargettable.
> What happens?

Since a Clone doesn't target anything, it comes into play and
copies the Morphling, if that's what its owner wants (it could
also copy the Angel, or copy nothing at all and die immediately).
>
>
> Next Question.
> Player A has a Morphling and Serra Angel in play and some untapped
> Islands. Player B has a Vesuvan Doppleganger which is already a duplicate
> of the Serra Angel.
> It is player B's upkeep and he switches the Vesuvan Doppleganger to copy
> the Morphling.
> Player A responds by making his Morpling untargettable.
> What happens?

The Vesuvan's copy-at-the-beginning-of-upkeep ability *is* targetted,
so its attempt to copy the Morphling is countered on resolution for
lack of legal targets. It remains a copy of the Serra Angel.

Serra Angel
{3}{W}{W}
Creature -- Angel
4/4
Flying
Attacking doesn't cause Serra Angel to tap.

Morphling
{3}{U}{U}
Creature -- Shapeshifter
3/3
{U}: Untap Morphling.
{U}: Morphling gains flying until end of turn.
{U}: Morphling can't be the target of spells or abilities this turn.
{1}: Morphling gets +1/-1 until end of turn.
{1}: Morphling gets -1/+1 until end of turn.

Clone
{3}{U}
Creature -- Clone
0/0
As Clone comes into play, you may choose a creature in play. If you do,
Clone comes into play as a copy of that creature.

Vesuvan Doppelganger
{3}{U}{U}
Creature -- Doppelganger
0/0
As Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play, you may choose a creature in play.
If you do, Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play as a copy of that creature
except for its color and gains "At the beginning of your upkeep, you may
have this creature become a copy of target creature except for its color.
If you do, this creature gains this ability."

--
Christopher Mattern

"Which one you figure tracked us?"
"The ugly one, sir."
"...Could you be more specific?"
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Tue, 31 Aug 2004 19:43:42 GMT, Jimmy Wong <j4389130@telus.net> wrote:
>Player A has a Morphling and Serra Angel in play and some untapped Islands.
>Player B casts a Clone to duplicate the Morphling.
>Player A responds by tapping and Island to make his Morphiling
>untargettable.
>What happens?

Morphling gets affected by "can't be the target of spells or abilities".
Clone spell resolves and puts Clone into play. Clone's caster may choose
a creature in play (not including the Clone itself); the Serra and the
Morphling are both valid choices, as no targetting of any sort is involved
here (this choice does NOT use the stack).
Clone's caster chooses the Morphling.
Clone comes into play as a copy of the Morphling card; it does NOT copy
any noncopy effects affecting the Morphling, though once it's in play as a
Morphling its controller can use the standard Morphling abilities it now has.
In particular, the Clone does NOT start off unable to be the target of spells
or abilities.

>Player A has a Morphling and Serra Angel in play and some untapped Islands.
>Player B has a Vesuvan Doppleganger which is already a duplicate of the
>Serra Angel.
>It is player B's upkeep and he switches the Vesuvan Doppleganger to copy the
>Morphling.
>Player A responds by making his Morpling untargettable.
>What happens?

Morphling gets affected by "can't be the target of spells or abilities".
Vesuvan Doppelganger's _targetted_ upkeep-triggered ability tries to resolve,
finds its only target is illegal, and gets countered.
Vesuvan sits there, continuing to be a blue copy of a Serra Angel with an added
upkeep-triggerd ability.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.