Question code 43 with 965m gpu on hp omen 15

Jul 27, 2019
I bought this laptop from somebody. First nvidia 965m was properly showing in task manager and I was able to open nvidia settings by right clicking on desktop. Then i installed a game "Prey". I started playing this game and i noticed that the fps are just 10 to 12. This game should give me more than 40fps. Then i noticed that nvidia 965m was not showing in task manager and i was not able to open nvidia control panel. I checked device manager and there i found an error.

"Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)".

No driver were upgraded before. I searched on internet and done every thing. updated driver, downgraded driver. downloaded drivers from hp site , downloaded drivers from nvidia site. nothing seem to work.

I even uninstalled window and re installed it but the issue is there as it is.

I dont know this is a driver issue or the hardware issue. graphics card is still detectable. Is there any way i can confirm this is hardware or a driver issue.

please help

The above Error code 43 can be reported anytime when Windows does not recognize a device – whether it's a USB port, Hard drive, video card/GPU, or any other piece of hardware connected to the computer.

Most of the time, error code 43 means that a device driver is either missing, corrupt, and/or outdated (so Windows has problems communicating properly with the hardware), or the hardware is faulty and needs to be replaced.

This error code points out that the Hardware might also be defective, which is the GPU. But we can't jump to any conclusion, as of now...

Error code 43 is a generic message that typically indicates a problem with the hardware or software in Windows operating system. This error is often reported in Windows Device Manager. If you encounter this error with your graphics card, here are some troubleshooting ideas that may help fix it.

1) Update your graphics card driver.