Question Computer crashed, CPU & DRAM red LEDs, display not detected.

May 9, 2023
I built this computer just shy of two years ago, and this is my first major issue. I’m no expert, but I did some basic troubleshooting. I’ve browsed through other forums and YouTube videos to try and find a solution - no luck yet.

Here’s what happened: I load up a game on my PC, played for a few hours. All of the sudden, everything blinks out, as if there was an outage. I shrug it off, and boot it back up. As I’m loading into the game again, it blinks out. At this point I figure it could be corrupted game files, so after booting up I did a file integrity check, and run the game again, but it happens again. Only this time, it’s stopped booting back up.

There’s no source detected on my monitor, case fans run for a split second after pressing the power, then stop - but CPU cooler, PSU and GPU fans run constantly - and two solid red LEDs from the motherboard: DRAM and CPU.

Here’s what I’ve done:
- Removed all components other than PSU, CPU, RAM
- Reset CMOS
- Tried booting with only one stick of RAM, tested in every slot individually with each stick. Also tried a working stick from another PC, errors still persist
- Unplugged and replugged everything in the motherboard, ensured connection is secure
- Reseated CPU

Here are my specs:
- Motherboard: ASROCK B560M-C
- CPU: i5 11400F
- GPU: MSI GeForce RTX 3060 Ti 8GB
- RAM: 16 GB (2x8) DDR4 3200
- PSU: 600W 80 PLUS Gold

I’m kind of suspecting a motherboard short based on the way the case fans are acting, but I’m unsure if that has any grounds to correlate. If you need any additional info or pictures I would be happy to provide it. I’m kind of at my wit’s end with this one, and I’m hoping someone more knowledgeable might be able to lend a hand. TIA!

Solution