Dec 9, 2020
Since my apartment (about 140m² ) has lots of thick walls and several mirrors I have lots of trouble getting wifi to work well everywhere at decent speeds. So over a year ago decided to get two basic routers (besides the one my ISP already gave me, so 3 in total), and spread them across the house in order to get good wifi to all rooms. However, recently I upgraded my internet to 250 Mbps, and now I need to upgrade the 2 extra routers to gigabit ones, and I'm having trouble deciding which ones to get.

Basically my main options are:

It might seem like an overkill, to have 3 (the ISP one + 2 of my own) gigabit dual band routers at home, but my plan is to get 5 GHz wifi in every room of the apartment(2.4 just doesn't do it anymore nowadays, so I hope to disable it across all the devices), so I can actually get nice speeds wherever I am.

I'm no net expert, but I do know more than your basic user, however I don't quite know how to tell the difference/which is better out of those routers. I'm basically looking to understand why one is better than the other, or why should I choose one over the other since I wanna purchase something that I won't need to upgrade for a while. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but from what I've seen from reviews online, they seem to be pretty close in performance all over, with the ASUS having a few more configuration options. I live in Brazil, so these options were the ones I managed to find at decent prices, but feel free to suggest others around this price range! Any tips/suggestions are greatly appreciated!!

Solution