H50 vs H70 (watercooling)

intel1502

Distinguished
Sep 19, 2010
Hey all, i am building a new rig with i7 950, asus rampage III formula, 6gb 1866mhz cl9 dominator gt.

I am wanting to achieve a clock of at least 4.0 Ghz.

I am wondering whether to get the corsair H50 or the H70. The H50 is really appealing due to its slim form and solid pump, where the H70 has a larger radiator and has 2 included fans, unlike the H50 which only has 1.

The real question is, will i be able to achieve 4+ghz stable with H50 or will i have to go bulky dual fan H70? Also when i say stable, i mean it; for I am new to overclocking and want to have room for error.

Thankyou all for your input! :love:

Solution
Well, you did say;

"can noone suggest any other coolers, air or otherwise"

The H50 definitely needs P/P fans to perform, also require's cool air ( aka, used as intake ) which means changing the normal airflow of most cases.
Haven't used the H70, reviews have been mixed as to wether or not it is worth it over the H50, but the shorter tubing would have kept me away from it anyway.
Heh, you said watercooling.
I'm a fan of the H50, it works rather well for what it is, but if you really want watercooling look into the XSPC Rasa kit ( Google it )
It's real watercooling that's upgradeable , doesn't cost much more than an H70 and will perform better.

intel1502

Distinguished
Sep 19, 2010

Just a heads up, can noone suggest any other coolers, air or otherwise because this is all thats available in my area

intel1502

Distinguished
Sep 19, 2010

I dont want air, period.
What would you suggest to reach 4? would the h50 get to hot, would h70 be overkill? would u rather push pull h50? what?

Well, you did say;

"can noone suggest any other coolers, air or otherwise"

The H50 definitely needs P/P fans to perform, also require's cool air ( aka, used as intake ) which means changing the normal airflow of most cases.