jeffjeff666

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2011
Hi!

another post concerning a possible i5 2500k overheating. First, here is my new build which was assemble last Friday and running 24hrs a day since then: Case Antec 300 with rear and top fan, MOBO Asus P8Z68-V, CPU i5 2500k with stock cooler, RAM DDR3 G SKILL 2X4GB, HD WD 1TB. No overclocking.

I decided to play Duke Nukem Forever demo today and once of a sudden, my computer shut down. It happened a few times.

I decided to check the temperature of my CPU using CoreTemp. Idle it was around 35-40 C on all cores. I started playing the game and was checking back and forth with CoreTemp and last temperature I saw was 74 C then it shut down again. I ran a few test with Prime95 and same thing, last temperature I could see was 74 C then the computer shut down.

Room temperature is around 25 C. I read many threads saying that 35-40C was normal when idle. What about that 74 C? Is there something that makes my computer shut down at 75 C?

I don't think it's normal that the CPU gets that hot. I am pretty sure that my stock cooler is installed properly. If it was not installed properly, should I expect highest temperature when the CPU is idle?

Thanks!

diellur

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2011
Idle temps look fine for stock cooler on that chip without OCing. I get low to mid 60s when using Prime95, no OCing and have a Hyper-212 cooler. So mid 70s doesn't seem unreasonable when using the stock cooler (but that would need confirmed).

The i5-2500K has a design temperature limit of 98 deg C, but it's possible your motherboard BIOS has 75 deg C as the shutdown limit. Have a look and see what it is...if that's the case, then up the limit a bit, maybe 85 deg C?

What's the inside of your case like - have you tidied the cables away? It also sounds like you have no intake fan (from your post), which is necessary to promote good cooling. Do a little work there too, and you may see your temps come down nicely.

jeffjeff666

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2011