[SOLVED] I'm hoping that around late-mid 2020 I can build my first PC, is it easy to fail?

h0pT0 Gaming

Commendable
Jul 20, 2019
Background information:
I having been wanting to build a PC for over a year now and I'm the type of person who researches a lot before doing something like this. I know surprisingly a lot about PCs saying that I've never built one. I know the steps that I need to take to build it, but because I've never done it before I'm scared that something will go wrong: It not turn on (and not know why), maybe damage a part (although I'm not too worried about that) or I might fail in some other way.

Although I know a good amount about computers, I don't have experience of building meaning I can't troubleshoot and I don't know the small do's and don'ts, obviously I know to be careful with handling the CPU (the pins) and not throwing things around like they're toys, but I don't know things that can affect the build such as make sure I do things before others (I can't come up with an example because I really know any).

If you can, please help me with:
  • Things I should know when building a PC
  • Things I don't need to be too worried about
  • Things which seem hard but aren't
  • Other things that you may deem necessary to have or know
Thanks.

Solution
Good questions.

1) Don't force anything, if it isn't fitting, take a moment and look at the problem. Don't overtighten anything. If using a full size screwdriver, use the tips of your fingers, don't grip the whole driver and turn it. Or use a precision set of screw drivers. Not trying to build a bridge, just hold components in the case.
AIO coolers, it is very easy to drive screws into the radiator when mounting to the chassis or the fans to the radiator. Double check the screw lengths and watch the end of the screw.
When applying coolers, never tighten a single screw all the way. Get all of them started, then slowly bring each screw down in steps until tight.