KMW new rule: Trophy

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Trophy is a new type of master card. A trophy may be put into play
using a master phase action (or can be retrieved as listed under "Red
List"). It has no effect until it is moved to a vampire.

When any vampire burns a Red List minion in combat or as a (D) action
(including diablerie), the controller of the trophy may choose to move
the trophy to that vampire. Any number of trophies in play may be moved
to the vampire in this way. Once placed on a vampire, a trophy cannot
be moved again.

See the Red List rule for more about playing Trophies.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Papipo wrote:
> Trophy is a new type of master card. A trophy may be put into play
> using a master phase action (or can be retrieved as listed under "Red
> List"). It has no effect until it is moved to a vampire.
>
> When any vampire burns a Red List minion in combat or as a (D) action
> (including diablerie), the controller of the trophy may choose to
move
> the trophy to that vampire. Any number of trophies in play may be
moved
> to the vampire in this way. Once placed on a vampire, a trophy cannot
> be moved again.
>
> See the Red List rule for more about playing Trophies.


Hmmm...if the trophy is moved to a vampire, it does not state that
control of the trophy changes. Is that correct (i.e. control does not
change)?

"Once placed on a vampire, a trophy cannot be moved again." How does
that apply to burning? Is burning considered "moving" to the ash heap?
What happens if the controller of the trophy (but not of the vampire)
is ousted? Does the Trophy stay or does the rule prevent it from being
moved away?
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

<echiang777@yahoo.com> wrote in message news:1107792338.252757.254230@z14g2000cwz.googlegroups.com...
> Hmmm...if the trophy is moved to a vampire, it does not state that
> control of the trophy changes. Is that correct (i.e. control does not
> change)?

No stated change of control and no rules-based change of control means
control doesn't change, right.

> "Once placed on a vampire, a trophy cannot be moved again." How does
> that apply to burning? Is burning considered "moving" to the ash heap?
> What happens if the controller of the trophy (but not of the vampire)
> is ousted? Does the Trophy stay or does the rule prevent it from being
> moved away?

It burns just fine.

--
LSJ (vtesrep@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Yeah, so instead of "neener neener", just say, "Um... changed my mind."
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"...the controller of the trophy may choose to move the trophy to that
vampire. "

Can the controller do this at any time? Any turn even?

Example: In diablerie can the controller wait to see if the vamp will
burn through blood hunt, or is it too late by then?
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

> There's no mechanic that forces a trophy put into play via an MPA
> actually be awarded, right? Ie, I can put Trophy: Clan Respect into
> play and say, "Hey, who wants to burn Kemintiri ADV?", but once someone
> does, I can then go, "Neener neener" if I wish, right?
>

And the Clan is chosen when you put the card into play, so there's
probably quite a bit of negotiation regarding which Clan you name.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

> There's no mechanic that forces a trophy put into play via an MPA
> actually be awarded, right? Ie, I can put Trophy: Clan Respect into
> play and say, "Hey, who wants to burn Kemintiri ADV?", but once someone
> does, I can then go, "Neener neener" if I wish, right?

Is "neener neener" affected by the NRA?

Ankur
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"Ankur Gupta" <agupta@cs.duke.edu> wrote in message news😛ine.GSO.4.62.0502071404250.2316@peso.cs.duke.edu...
> > There's no mechanic that forces a trophy put into play via an MPA
> > actually be awarded, right? Ie, I can put Trophy: Clan Respect into
> > play and say, "Hey, who wants to burn Kemintiri ADV?", but once someone
> > does, I can then go, "Neener neener" if I wish, right?
>
> Is "neener neener" affected by the NRA?


It's not technically an action, so no.

It probably violates the sportsmanship clause, though. :=)

--
LSJ (vtesrep@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

<adam.hulse@ngc.com> wrote in message news:1107807385.283486.236290@z14g2000cwz.googlegroups.com...
> "...the controller of the trophy may choose to move the trophy to that
> vampire. "
>
> Can the controller do this at any time? Any turn even?
>
> Example: In diablerie can the controller wait to see if the vamp will
> burn through blood hunt, or is it too late by then?


It's too late. This is made explicit in the new rulebook.

Basically, in the case of diablerie, the Trophies move (and one
is retrieved) in the same window as the Discipline card would be
retrieved if the victim were older.

--
LSJ (vtesrep@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

On 7 Feb 2005 06:22:48 -0800, Papipo <papipo@gmail.com> wrote:

> Trophy is a new type of master card. A trophy may be put into play
> using a master phase action (or can be retrieved as listed under "Red
> List"). It has no effect until it is moved to a vampire.
>
> When any vampire burns a Red List minion in combat or as a (D) action
> (including diablerie), the controller of the trophy may choose to move
> the trophy to that vampire. Any number of trophies in play may be moved
> to the vampire in this way. Once placed on a vampire, a trophy cannot
> be moved again.
>
> See the Red List rule for more about playing Trophies.

I don't really get this. Red List said that burning the vampire meant
that (among other things) you could search your library for a Trophy.
But that is most likely during your minion phase. So why do you put
Trophies into the game, when you can search them from your library?
Also, what's the point if they don't do anything anyway until you
burn a Red List minion? Does moving a Master:Trophy card from your
Library somehow still cost a MPA? What about multiple Trophies being
movable to the same vampire? I'm clueless...

--
Bye,

Daneel
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"Daneel" <daniel@eposta.hu> wrote in message news😱pslt478kpo6j3lh@news.chello.hu...
> On 7 Feb 2005 06:22:48 -0800, Papipo <papipo@gmail.com> wrote:
>
> > Trophy is a new type of master card. A trophy may be put into play
> > using a master phase action (or can be retrieved as listed under "Red
> > List"). It has no effect until it is moved to a vampire.
> >
> > When any vampire burns a Red List minion in combat or as a (D) action
> > (including diablerie), the controller of the trophy may choose to move
> > the trophy to that vampire. Any number of trophies in play may be moved
> > to the vampire in this way. Once placed on a vampire, a trophy cannot
> > be moved again.
> >
> > See the Red List rule for more about playing Trophies.
>
> I don't really get this. Red List said that burning the vampire meant
> that (among other things) you could search your library for a Trophy.
> But that is most likely during your minion phase. So why do you put
> Trophies into the game, when you can search them from your library?

Possible reasons:
1) You want more than one trophy for your effort.
2) You want to use them as incentives to get other Methuselahs to beat
up on a pesky Red Lister.
3) It's in your hand and you don't want it blocking there until
your discard phase and/or you have another use for your upcoming
discard phase action.

> Also, what's the point if they don't do anything anyway until you
> burn a Red List minion? Does moving a Master:Trophy card from your
> Library somehow still cost a MPA? What about multiple Trophies being

No.

> movable to the same vampire? I'm clueless...

Multiple in-play ones can be, per the rule.

--
LSJ (vtesrep@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

LSJ wrote:
> 2) You want to use them as incentives to get other Methuselahs to beat
> up on a pesky Red Lister.

Just to verify:

There's no mechanic that forces a trophy put into play via an MPA
actually be awarded, right? Ie, I can put Trophy: Clan Respect into
play and say, "Hey, who wants to burn Kemintiri ADV?", but once someone
does, I can then go, "Neener neener" if I wish, right?

--Colin McGuigan
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"Colin McGuigan" <maguaSPAM@BGONEspeakeasy.net> wrote in message news:wOednTH7PK5_MJrfRVn-gA@speakeasy.net...
> LSJ wrote:
> > 2) You want to use them as incentives to get other Methuselahs to beat
> > up on a pesky Red Lister.
>
> Just to verify:
>
> There's no mechanic that forces a trophy put into play via an MPA
> actually be awarded, right? Ie, I can put Trophy: Clan Respect into
> play and say, "Hey, who wants to burn Kemintiri ADV?", but once someone
> does, I can then go, "Neener neener" if I wish, right?


Right. Future actions are not constrained by deals or
other table talk.

--
LSJ (vtesrep@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

On Mon, 7 Feb 2005 11:41:49 -0500, LSJ <vtesrep@white-wolf.com> wrote:

>> I don't really get this. Red List said that burning the vampire meant
>> that (among other things) you could search your library for a Trophy.
>> But that is most likely during your minion phase. So why do you put
>> Trophies into the game, when you can search them from your library?
>
> Possible reasons:
> 1) You want more than one trophy for your effort.
> 2) You want to use them as incentives to get other Methuselahs to beat
> up on a pesky Red Lister.
> 3) It's in your hand and you don't want it blocking there until
> your discard phase and/or you have another use for your upcoming
> discard phase action.

I think I'm starting to get this. I think that what confused me was how
the thing was separated into two rules...

So. Combining the relevant parts of the Trophy and Red List rules:

When any vampire (from now on: the Hero) burns a Red List minion in combat
or as a (D) action (including diablerie), the following separate events
trigger: i) The controller of the Hero can search his or her library, ash
heap or hand for a single (one) Trophy card and place that card on the
Hero with no additional costs (in MPAs, for example). ii) The controllers
of any Master:Trophy cards that were put into play in the regular fashion
(e.g. for MPAs) may choose, for each Trophy whether they wish to move
that particular Trophy to the Hero.

Meaning, that I can get a maximum of X+1 Trophies (X being the ones already
in play, and the +1 is the one I search my Library/Hand/Ash Heap for).
Provided, of course, that all X are controlled by me (or by Methuselahs
who are willing to give them to me).

Right? 😉

--
Bye,

Daneel
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"Daneel" <daniel@eposta.hu> wrote in message news😱pslt9j6gco6j3lh@news.chello.hu...
> So. Combining the relevant parts of the Trophy and Red List rules:
>
> When any vampire (from now on: the Hero) burns a Red List minion in combat
> or as a (D) action (including diablerie), the following separate events
> trigger: i) The controller of the Hero can search his or her library, ash
> heap or hand for a single (one) Trophy card and place that card on the
> Hero with no additional costs (in MPAs, for example). ii) The controllers
> of any Master:Trophy cards that were put into play in the regular fashion
> (e.g. for MPAs) may choose, for each Trophy whether they wish to move
> that particular Trophy to the Hero.
>
> Meaning, that I can get a maximum of X+1 Trophies (X being the ones already
> in play, and the +1 is the one I search my Library/Hand/Ash Heap for).
> Provided, of course, that all X are controlled by me (or by Methuselahs
> who are willing to give them to me).

Precisely.

--
LSJ (vtesrep@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

> Trophy is a new type of master card.

As an aside, LSJ, little question on the preview schedule : When a "new
rule" is previewed, does it count "like a card" for schedule purposes - in
other words, do we have to wait 2 more days now to see the vampire that has
better be a Giovanni if you value your immortal Soul ?
--
Orpheus

--------------------------------
"Zane, Zane, Zane / Lalala Fashion Bip Bip / Oh ! By Jingo"

David Bowie, greatest rock lyricist of all times
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"Orpheus" <orpheus.13@ERASERHEADfree.fr> wrote in message news:4207c65f$0$26981$626a14ce@news.free.fr...
> > Trophy is a new type of master card.
>
> As an aside, LSJ, little question on the preview schedule : When a "new
> rule" is previewed, does it count "like a card" for schedule purposes - in
> other words, do we have to wait 2 more days now to see the vampire that has
> better be a Giovanni if you value your immortal Soul ?


http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/index.php?line=news&articleid=130

How about a Nec card instead? Would that satisfy the Pit?

--
LSJ (vtesrep@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"LSJ" <vtesrep@white-wolf.com> a écrit dans le message de news:
36pvgrF54emmrU1@individual.net...
> "Orpheus" <orpheus.13@ERASERHEADfree.fr> wrote in message
news:4207c65f$0$26981$626a14ce@news.free.fr...
> > > Trophy is a new type of master card.
> >
> > As an aside, LSJ, little question on the preview schedule : When a "new
> > rule" is previewed, does it count "like a card" for schedule purposes -
in
> > other words, do we have to wait 2 more days now to see the vampire that
has
> > better be a Giovanni if you value your immortal Soul ?
>
>
> http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/index.php?line=news&articleid=130

Looks like : no sugar.

> How about a Nec card instead? Would that satisfy the Pit?

Very temporarily. The last one better be Giovanni !!

--------------
Orpheus, proud son of "Don" Antonino Cirri [07/02/1923 - 29/01/2005]
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

sinaath wrote:
> > Trophy is a new type of master card. A trophy may be put into play
> > using a master phase action (or can be retrieved as listed under
"Red
> > List"). It has no effect until it is moved to a vampire.
> >
> > When any vampire burns a Red List minion in combat or as a (D)
action
> > (including diablerie), the controller of the trophy may choose to
move
> > the trophy to that vampire. Any number of trophies in play may be
moved
> > to the vampire in this way. Once placed on a vampire, a trophy
cannot
> > be moved again.
> >
> > See the Red List rule for more about playing Trophies.
>
> Is Baltimore's Purge an action, that torporize vampires? (like Sleep
of
> Reason)
> If yes, and I've torporized 3 RL-minions, can I go through library
and
> search 3 throphy cards for each of them?
>
> sinaath

No. It doesn't burn the minions, and it's not a (D) action.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

sinaath wrote:
> > 2) Trophy wouldn't care if it was -- burning, not torporizing, is
> > what Trophies look for.
>
> Right,
> I don't know why did I thought it's enought to torporize.. would be
too
> easy.
> Sacrificial Lamb or 6th Tradition work fine though?
>
> sinaath

Yes.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

Different question about Trophy

"Trophy: Hunting Ground
Action Modifier/Reaction
Boon. Hunting Ground. Usable by a tapped vampire. Usable during combat.
Usable only when this vampire burns a Red-List minion controlled by
another Methuselah. Put this card on this vampire. During your untap
phase, this vampire gains 2 blood from the blood bank. A vampire can
gain blood from only 1 Hunting Ground card each turn.
"

Its stated in the trophy rule that the trophy may not be move off the
vampire.

Now how do the following cards affect the Trophy when
a)it is in play (but no vamp yet) - actually, can this be put in play?
Its not a master but a action modifier/reaction.
b)when it is on the vamp?
c)retrieve from deck/ash heap/hand

Blood Trade - (burn all boons, no more boons)
Steal hunting ground - (anarch card)
Steal location - technically does not state location on the card. But
you would think that a hunting ground is a location.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

adam.hu...@ngc.com wrote:
> Different question about Trophy
>
> "Trophy: Hunting Ground
> Action Modifier/Reaction
> Boon. Hunting Ground. Usable by a tapped vampire. Usable during
combat.
> Usable only when this vampire burns a Red-List minion controlled by
> another Methuselah. Put this card on this vampire. During your untap
> phase, this vampire gains 2 blood from the blood bank. A vampire can
> gain blood from only 1 Hunting Ground card each turn.
> "
>
> Its stated in the trophy rule that the trophy may not be move off the
> vampire.
>

The text you quoted above is likely a playtest version. They probably
experimented with making trophies a variety of card types and settled
on master. From the Trophy Rule: "Trophy is a new type of master
card..."

> Now how do the following cards affect the Trophy when
> a)it is in play (but no vamp yet) - actually, can this be put in
play?

If it is a modifier/reaction, then it could not be put into play as a
master phase action, no.

> Its not a master but a action modifier/reaction.
> b)when it is on the vamp?

When it's put on a vampire who has burned a red list minion.

> c)retrieve from deck/ash heap/hand

The red list rule says that you may search your library/ash heap/hand
for a "master trophy", so if that card type were accurate, no, it could
not be retrieved.

> Blood Trade - (burn all boons, no more boons)

Trophies are not boons (unless they print one with the boon trait on it
in bold). Burning is not the same as moving, however.

> Steal hunting ground - (anarch card)

I have no idea whether that would work or not.

> Steal location - technically does not state location on the card. But
> you would think that a hunting ground is a location.

If it says 'location' on it, then it's a location. If not, it's not.

John
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

> Trophy is a new type of master card. A trophy may be put into play
> using a master phase action (or can be retrieved as listed under "Red
> List"). It has no effect until it is moved to a vampire.
>
> When any vampire burns a Red List minion in combat or as a (D) action
> (including diablerie), the controller of the trophy may choose to move
> the trophy to that vampire. Any number of trophies in play may be moved
> to the vampire in this way. Once placed on a vampire, a trophy cannot
> be moved again.
>
> See the Red List rule for more about playing Trophies.

Is Baltimore's Purge an action, that torporize vampires? (like Sleep of
Reason)
If yes, and I've torporized 3 RL-minions, can I go through library and
search 3 throphy cards for each of them?

sinaath
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

"sinaath" <sinaath@killthis.gmail.com> wrote in message news:tkrmd2-1cl.ln1@tartar.ente.com.pl...
> Is Baltimore's Purge an action, that torporize vampires? (like Sleep of
> Reason)
> If yes, and I've torporized 3 RL-minions, can I go through library and
> search 3 throphy cards for each of them?


1) No.

2) Trophy wouldn't care if it was -- burning, not torporizing, is
what Trophies look for.

--
LSJ (vtesrep@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad (More info?)

<adam.hulse@ngc.com> wrote in message news:1107890299.527054.3760@l41g2000cwc.googlegroups.com...
> Different question about Trophy
>
> "Trophy: Hunting Ground
> Action Modifier/Reaction
> Boon. Hunting Ground. Usable by a tapped vampire. Usable during combat.
> Usable only when this vampire burns a Red-List minion controlled by
> another Methuselah. Put this card on this vampire. During your untap
> phase, this vampire gains 2 blood from the blood bank. A vampire can
> gain blood from only 1 Hunting Ground card each turn.
> "

That is not the official text -- just some preliminary (pre-playtest)
text presented to give an example of the flavor of what Trophy cards
could be.

The official texts should be adequate to addressing the questions
you may have about the card, once they are revealed.

If not, of course, you know where to come for answers. 🙂

--
LSJ (vtesrep@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu