Multithreading in Relation to Gaming

tooz

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2009
I'm still on a search for a CPU that is right for me...and now I have some more questions. I know that past three or four cores, games don't really respond to the amount of cores, or at least that's what this article said: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/multi-core-cpu,2280-11.html. I'm quite new to processors and chips of right now (I know how it works, but from a technical standpoint rather than knowing what's the best chip out on the market, and I have a REALLY limited knowledge of threads). And so now I am looking at how the number of threads may impact performance in gaming. Does multithreading really provide that much advantage now or in the future in gaming, or in other words, will games take advantage of multithreading abilities? Also, I have a really quick question: will current processors like the i7 and PII handle games coming out for the next, say 5 or 7 years? Thanks for any help.

smithereen

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2008
5-7 years is a long time - I'd aim a little lower. For gaming, the sweat spot right now is a Phenom II X3 720/Core 2 Duo e8400, but they are less futureproof than, say, a Core i7 920. An AM3 chipset with a PhII 720 would probaby be the best value and most upgradable gaming platform right now in the medium-high end.

Also, that benchmark is biased agaist triple-cores because it is using a double-cheeseburger quad, which has a bottleneck in that the 3rd and 4th cores are seperated from the first and second by the FSB. In a Phenom II triple, the cores are all on the same die, so the performance will increase almost linearly. Most games utilize two cores, leaving the third for Windows and other things running in the background.

tooz

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2009

Alright thank you for the input. So are saying AMD is better for gaming at the price, or is the i7 better overall and is more futureproof? So than should I just ignore the i7, or should I look into it?