precisiontech

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2010
I'm a network rookie and I'm having trouble with my first setup.

I have a old XP desktop connected to AT&T DSL thru a modem. Internet works fine. As soon as I throw my Linksys router into the mix, I get wifi on my laptop, and other mobile devices but loose internet on the desktop. What's going on?

How exactly did you throw the Linksys router into the mix? These things need to be connected and configured in specific ways, or it won’t work as expected. You connected what to what, using what ports?

Wouldn’t hurt to know the specific make and model of products either (e.g., I don’t know if we’re dealing w/ just a modem, or perhaps a combination device, modem+router, it all matters).

Also, you said wifi works for your laptop and mobile devices. Does that mean they have internet access too (you can have the former w/o the latter)?

precisiontech

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2010
Cable from wall (with filter) to DSL Westell modem. Cable from modem to Linksys WRT54G's internet port. Cable from router #1 port to desktop ethernet port.

I am able to connect my laptop and mobile devices and have internet access. I just can't get access on the desktop with the router.

Usually it's the other way around, wired works and wireless proves troublesome. Perhaps uploading your TCP/IP configuration for the desktop while it's configured for ethernet will reveal something.

Hit Windows key + R, copy/paste the following into the box, and hit enter.

cmd /c "ipconfig /all > %tmp%\tmp.txt && start notepad %tmp%\tmp.txt"

This will open a file detailing your network configuration. Copy its contents into your next reply.

precisiontech

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2010
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix. : myhome.westell.com
Description............................... : Broadcom 44x 10/100 Integrated Controller
Physical Address...................... : 00-0B-DB-B6-B1-F6
Dhcp Enabled........................... : Yes