NEWB with a dream

lations

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2009
hey guys, im very new to computers but i feel i can learn fairly quickly. i am going to buy a new desktop soon and have a couple questions.

i was told that getting an i7 920 would be smarter than a 940 because i can overclock it... can someone with pretty much no experience do this without tearing their hair out? it may be worth the extra money to get a 940, but as i understand it a stock 940 is slower than OCd 920.

Most Importantly: what should i keep in mind when buying the computer if i do plan on overclocking... some issues i wonder about are:

cooling: coolermaster V10 is really best option from cyberpower...enough for overclocking??
Also: people mention thermal paste...is this something i will be dealing with in the process?

are there any other components or anything i need to consider when buying the pc when planning an overclock??

ANY help would be great guys and i would really appreciate it... PLEASE feel free to go off on tangents or talk about anything remotely related, since any extra knowledge will help me a TON
Thanks

drippyfausett

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2008
Not sure how good this link will help you but it might be a start. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/phenom-overclock-athlon,2161.html

I would like to mention that the 940 is a black edition which has an unlocked multiplier. It allows easier overclocks from what I hear. Make sure the MB you choose has SB750 (the southbridge) allows for better overclocks. Just some stuff off my head. I have never overclocked but this is just stuff that I have run across from reading others posts.

rockyjohn

Distinguished