Status
Not open for further replies.

Sad39

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2011
I am polishing off a new build and am trying to make a couple of final selections. Most important is the SSD.
I have / had it down to 2 SSDs. Both are 128GB Sata III drives. The Samsung 830 and the Crucial M4. However, I am seeing some good press about the Plextor PX-M3S Series. Right now, I can grab up the 128 GB for $169.99 at Newegg. And saving $ is important.
I see virtually no information on Tom's about the Plextor drives. I dont even see them in the roundups of SSDs.

From what I can tell, the PX-M3S uses "24nm Toshiba Toggle NAND." THe November SSD roundup puts the Toggle Nand SSD in "tier 3," which is great for 120/128GB. And they are offering 5 year warranty, which is attractive, since this is my first build.

How is the quality of the Plextor drives? Anybody with experience? Or am I giving up something by saving the $50 from teh Samsung or M4? Just wondering why nobody mentions this unit here.

I will be using this as a Photoshop / Office system with some mid level gaming on occasion.
i5 2500K
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3
8GB G.Skill Sniper 1600 (2x4GB)
Rosewill Future case w Rosewill Hive 550 PSU.
Windows 7 64 bit
128GB SSD (model still in question) for programs and Photoshop cache.
2TB Seagate Barracuda Green as storage drive.
Asus PA238Q Monitor
Vid Card (still not decided) probably HD 6670/5670.

Solution
The M4 and 830 are the drives I always recommend but I have also heard very good things about the PX-M3S. The PX-M2 drives are excellent drives so I would assume that the PX-M3S drives are also excellent but I don't have any numbers or concrete information to give you. I have an M4 and I love it, but $170 is a good price.

danraies

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2011