Viewsonic VP150M, any Experience ? Please comment

ken1971

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2001
I 've heard of this LCD monitor for months. But none of my friends has come across the performance of it.
Anyone can tell me whether it is good for 3D gaming and DVD playing ? Thanks

flamethrower205

Illustrious
Jun 26, 2001
I have used the VP150M- I was lured by its response time (you won;t find many monitors out there with a response time of 25ms- except for some Sony's with response time of 20ms0. In digital mode, the picture is quite good (I am a graphics designer, and serious gamer), but often I found that in color ramps (starts out black and gradually turns white) the VP150M has trouble. This will affect you when you play games, etc. Personally, I would not really reccomend this monitor, since you also tend to have to view it at weird angles to see all of its shades of grey. I would reccomend an Eizo L371- just to help you out, it's response time is 35ms- but that is fine- you really won't notice it. It has AMAZING picture quality when in digital mode (in analog is has color discontinuities).
Hope this helps

ken1971

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2001
Hi Flamethrower205, There is another candidate in my region : Sharp LL-T1610W stems from the Black TFT family, would you please share your experience. In fact I have also noticed the color ramp problem and was recommended by local detail the above Sharp model. What do you think ?

flamethrower205

Illustrious
Jun 26, 2001