[SOLVED] Which upgrade path should I take?

mike789

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2012
Hello everyone,
My build is more or less 2 years old and even though I do not feel I should upgrade anything yet, for the past couple of weeks I've been researching a little bit new hardware, after all building PCs (I have built all of my friends systems also) is my favorite thing! :)
I'm an amateur I do it for hobby I just want to make them pretty and good in games.

My current setup is:
NZXT S340 Elite
Corsair 750W HX
Asus z270 - A Prime
i7-7700k (kraken x62)
GSkill TridentZ 16GB 3200
Palit SuperJetStream GTX 1080
Samsung 970evo (m2) 500GB
Samsung 860evo 500GB
Samsung 27CHG70

Option 1: Originally, I thought to wait for AMD to make a GPU that is at least 80% faster than my 1080. That way I could take advantage of the Freesync feature my monitor has also. However, when one plays at high framerates >72 @144hz everything seems smooth so it 's not such a big deal. A super 2080 would be more than fine also and I think the 7700k would handle it.

Option 2: Now that AMD is making good CPUs also, I wouldn't mind a new multi core processor (after all that's the thing now) and I would have to change m/b and CPU.

Option 3: Or wait one or two more years and do it like the previous time: m/b + cpu + gpu (thank God not ram again) .

Any suggestions welcome!!

Solution
Given your criteria, I would wait, with a caveat.