Ibanezrg570

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2007
Hey guys,

Sorry for the ne post but i'm having a hell of a time getting a straight answer when I search. So anyways, here goes:

I have an SMG Barricade G 54mbps wireless router using windows Vista 32 Home. On the wireless network I have a Nintendo Wii, a Nintendo DS and my sisters laptop. Now it was my understanding that when using a wireless connection the bandwidth that each system can access is not limited when another one of the systems was using bandwidth for, say DLing for a torrent site or even videos for that matter. This does not seem to be the case in that when i'm using Utorrent and my brother is playing Wii WiFi, he suffers terrible lag. Is there a work around for this? Or is it just that there is limited bandwidth that can be shared over a wireless network? Could these connections be sharing the same ports which might be limiting the bandwidth then?

I am a complete novice at networking, so I really have no idea where to start. Last bit of info: I am running Norton firewall and my wireless conection is not secured from others using it.

If there is something I can do to correct this I would greatly appreciate any advice.

Cheers

brw02005

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2006
Well assuming your connection is not limited by the wireless which is typcially not the case just go under the preferences in utorrent and limit the max download speed until the wii doesn't lag. Unless you have a really slow DSL connection that should solve the lag problem assuming your sister on a notebook will not draw that much.
The more advanced way to do it is setting up QOS on your router and limited certain computer or apps. Routers that do this are usually really expensive and since the wii is new they might not be designed to do it anyway. The cheap way is use DD-WRT firmware flashed into any broadcom based router (don't see yours listed).
Good luck hope something I said works.

Ibanezrg570

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2007