Discussion XMP in AMD motherboard

aviv926

Prominent
Nov 5, 2020
Hello, in the last year I started learning about hardware.
And today I learned the subject of XMP, a technology developed by Intel from what I understood.
But for some reason this technology exists in motherboards with processors of the competing company of Intel - AMD.

It's a little unclear to me why Intel would allow its technology to be in the motherboards and processors of a company that competes with it?

Thanks for your answer :)

I honestly wouldn't call it a technology. It just reads the values off of the rams spd chip and applies them.

Some AMD boards have XMP called DOCP but it does the same thing. My msi amd board says A-XMP.

On the reverse, my Asus X58 Sabertooth had an option for both DOCP and XMP. It said DOCP just adjusted memory but XMP optimized the system, whatever that meant.

Reactions: aviv926
XMP (Extreme Memory Profile) are just profiles that Overclock RAM beyond the normal JDEK standard through profiles and predefined overclocking configurations that are known to be stable.
It's not technology that can be owned and I don't think it was patented.

XMP and D.O.C.P (Direct Over Clock Profile) is the simple way of RAM overclocking, as manual RAM overclocking can be frustrating for some.
AMD developed their own D.O.CP profiles for Ryzen based systems.

aviv926

Prominent
Nov 5, 2020
I honestly wouldn't call it a technology. It just reads the values off of the rams spd chip and applies them.

Some AMD boards have XMP called DOCP but it does the same thing. My msi amd board says A-XMP.

On the reverse, my Asus X58 Sabertooth had an option for both DOCP and XMP. It said DOCP just adjusted memory but XMP optimized the system, whatever that meant.

thank you for your answer.
I read about DOCP -- (direct overclock profile) like what you say it is same thing like XMP.
But I'm sure Intel is a smart company, it may not have registered this technology as a protected patent?