Archived from groups: rec.games.miniatures.warhammer (
More info?)
"P Bowles" <pbowles@aol.com> wrote in message
news:20050202143100.05425.00000133@mb-m01.aol.com...
> In article <36bhu0F4sts5cU1@individual.net>, "Spack"
> <news@worldofspack.co.uk>
> writes:
>
>>"John Hwang" <JohnHwangCSI@cs.com.no.com> wrote in message
>>news:36b5slF4tnv9nU1@individual.net...
>>> Spack wrote:
>>>> Codex: Space Marines, page 21. Look at note 3 under the Space Marine
>>>> Characters heading. The rule is one of those vague ones that GW seems
>>>> to
>>>> enjoy putting in - does it mean only one additional character, or does
>>>> it
>>>> mean only one of each type of character (implying that 2 additional
>>>> characters can be added).
>>>
>>> It's clear that it's one of each type (1 Librarian and/or 1 Chaplain).
>>
>>But is it? Does the clarification on only allowing one of each type merely
>>cover stopping taking a Chaplain with a command squad and adding another
>>Chaplain? It's one of those lines that's open to interpretation - even
>>I've
>>managed to interpret it both ways, and I'm normally quite narrow minded
>>when
>>it comes to looking at the rules. It's the phrase "The attached character,
>>the squad, and the character leading it" that's the problem - it implies
>>only 1 additional character by the lack of a (s) on the word character.
>>
Reading thought it all again a few times, I can finally see the light
> This is GW trying to complicate a simple rule - if you look on page 29 in
> the
> Command Squad entry it clearly states "A Command Squad which, including
> attached characters..."
This is the key I was looking for - "attached characters". A Command Squad
is led by a character (who is a leader, not classed as attached), and then
other characters are attached. Shame it's dug down in the Transport section
of the Command Squad entry.
> Page 21 itself states "Librarians and Chaplains may be
> attached to *another character's Command Squad*" (singular, my emphasis),
> very
> clearly stating that both characters can be added to one Command Squad led
> by a
> Commander (since both wouldn't be able to join one led by either a
> Librarian or
> a Chaplain).
Depends on how you read it. It does clearly state that both can be attached
at the same time. It's all about the semantics, and in this case could go
either way.
> It further states that "Only one character of a given type" may be
> added to the squad - if it meant that only one character could be added it
> would have said so.
That's the phrase that I pointed out in the last post as excluding the
ability of attaching a Chaplain to a Command Squad being led by a Chaplain
(and the same for Libs), again not clearly stating that one of each type may
be attached at the same time.
In the end, I'm glad you pointed out the phrase in the Transport option
text. I might just take a 3 character Command Squad in my next game just for
the comedy value of seeing my opponent's face when they wade into HTH.
Dan