[SOLVED] Analog headphones not working...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 1, 2020
I'm not really sure this is the proper place to post this, but here goes.

Sorry if I sound a little bit uninformed in tech, I'm 14 and I'm not tech savvy. However, on my PC, my analog headphones do not work. Analog headphones meaning it uses a 3.5mm jack for both the headphones and microphone.

Previously, this wasn't an issue because I used digital (USB) headphones. The headphones that I'm trying to use now are the Sennheiser PC37X. I've even returned them and got a brand new pair a few days later. This issue still persists.

The problem is that I can't hear anything and the microphone doesn't work. The only thing I hear is this strange scratchy noise (but sometimes, the scratchy noise isn't there ???). This scratchy noise does scale with how loud I have the volume on the headphones. If the volume on the ear cup is all the way down, the scratchy noise is almost gone. This scratchy noise does not scale with how loud I have the audio on Windows.

Things I have tried:

• Checking that there are no faulty connections (the cord is removable from the ear cup; I made sure that it is COMPLETELY plugged in.

Tried different devices
Dad's computer: We were eventually able to get the sound to work, but only in the left ear. There was still the scratching noise (but only in the left ear) and the microphone was working.

Brother's computers: Didn't work

My phone (Moto G4): The audio worked 100% fine, but I don't think there's a way I can test the microphone on here.