guardianangel42

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2010
Hey all. I have been struggling with CPU temps for a long time now and I believe I've narrowed down its cause but I wanted to ask the community if what I'm experiencing is really abnormal or simply typical.

My computer's case has excellent airflow, especially in regards to the CPU heatsink so it's not that the case is containing air.

Right now I'm experiencing, on my C2Q Q9550 at stock speeds (I downclocked temporarily from that in my sig), 54C temperatures. This may not seem like much, but I've just checked the review for my heatsink and found that I should be experiencing ~42C at full load (Ambient temp is ~23C, idle at ~30C).

My question is have I missed something? I'm relatively new to computers and my experience troubleshooting them is restricted almost entirely to this one so I may be getting worked up over nothing.

Thanks in advance,

GA

aviral

Honorable
Mar 11, 2012
It is not at all an issue.

Only you make to make sure :-
1)Try cleaning all your air windows and heatsink.
2)Apply a new thermal paste may be your thermal paste have dried up which is giving a 10C more heat as a result.

This temperature is not that hot because you still hav some Celsius left to reach the maximum which is 71.5C.

Agreed. And I found using a quality paste like Arctic Silver does make a difference...

guardianangel42

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2010

I know it's within reason still but I'm asking because of a lot of other stuff I didn't mention in the OP because it would make it too long.