[SOLVED] Does my HP Laptop need a SSD?

Rooki3_N00b

Honorable
Apr 29, 2016
Hi everyone

Hope I've posted this in the right section.

I have a HP ENVY Notebook - 14t-j100 CTO which I've been using for about 5 years now. It has been a couple years now that whenever I run ANY programs, the "Disk usage" spikes to 100 and stays there for a solid 3 minutes before it goes down to 0. This issue started off with 20sec~ish and has become progressively worse. I've tried resetting windows and all the rest (virus checking, driver updates, bios update, dusting etc) but the issue still remains. A year ago, I upgraded my laptop's ram from 8>12gb ( did not make the issue less). I cannot play many of the games that I were able to a long while ago because of the random frame drop issue which I personally assume is because of the slow drive. One other important note: In the last week, 2 of my programs (Android emulators, Bluestacks/LdPlayer) had their instance's files deleted and one corrupted for some reason.

Here is my device specifications:

HP ENVY Notebook -
Model #:14t-j100 CTO
Product #: L8V12AV
Serial #: CND5430Q4D

1TB HDD 5400 RPM Model: ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
12GB RAM DDR3 1600mhz
Nvidia 950m 4GB
Intel i7 6700HQ
Windows 10 Home Version 10.0.19044 Build 19044
BIOS ver Insyde F.52

So I guess what I'm asking are 2 questions:

1: What could be the cause of the extremely high disk usage and the very recent file corruption? Is it the HDD?
2: If I need a SSD, which is the best SSD for my laptop model?

If there are any other details you would like to know, please let me know.

Thank you in advance.

Solution
1) How full is that 1 TB HDD? If past 70-80% capacity, performance will be slowed.

Especially if there has not been any disk cleaning or other maintenance. Have you ever run Disk Clean or Defragged the HDD? (Note: SSDs are not defragged.)

2) An SSD will help considerably but basically will require a clean install of Windows and then restoring all apps and data.