[SOLVED] Doubled the memory and halved the performance!! Any help appreciated

spaingaroo

Proper
Jan 21, 2019
Hi, I hope someone can help me work out how to proceed.
I am a visual artist, and only know as much about my computers as I have to at any given time.
I just installed 16 GB more GSkill FlareX F4-3200C14D-16GFX RAM (making 32, 4 sticks of 8 GB) and a new 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, M.2 (2280) PCIe 3.0 (x4) NVMe SSD [MZ-V7E500BW] onto a X470 Gaming Pro motherboard based computer. (I installed both at the same time)
(Obviously the computer is not old, about six months old.)
Processor is AMD Ryzen 7 2700X and the graphics cards is a Radeon WX 4100
It already has a 250GB Samsung 970 EVO, M.2 NVMe SSD with windows 10 pro installed on it.
That one is installed in slot M2-1 and the new 500gb one in M2-2.
It also has a Kingston SSD 120GB Sata.
There are a pair of rotative hard drives, that are normally unplugged, (for example during all of this process, so can be safely ignored for the moment)
I cleaned everything first, well during the installation with compressed air, but apart from that did nothing special during the process.
After I reassembled the case, brought it downstairs and reattached all it's cables etc, I booted it up. It restarted several times after very short periods, and eventually flashed a message up on the screen saying something about changed configurations, but the message was gone as soon as I noticed it, so can't say exactly what it said.
I eventually got into the bios and checked, and it seems to recognise the new hardware. I went and checked the MSI website, and there was an updated BIOS, so I downloaded that, and installed it using the m-flash method. This went off all right, but has made no difference.

The computer restarts itself several times when I boot it up each time now and although it eventually goes to windows, windows doesn't recognise the new SSD.