[SOLVED] HDD to SSD

Feb 12, 2021
I have 2 HDD on my PC, I just bought 1 128GB SSD. Is there a possibility that I will move the windows programs from HDD to SSD? I mean is there a possibility that I won't format my HDDs?

My plan is
1 HDD 500GB - For my School Works
1 HDD 1TB - For my Games
1 SDD 128GB - For Windows

It is my first time upgrading my PC. Sorry if I have a lot of questions here. Peace!
PS: I just bought SSD for fast boot.

Solution
Particularly, if you can get your C:\ plus the System Reserved volumes down to 118GB, you might be able to copy that into the new SSD
To migrate into a 128GB drive, the actual consumed space on the Source must be below 80GB.
Not 118.
The clone/migration tool needs some free space to work with.

And a 128GB drive should never be filled more than ~85GB anyway.

USAFRet

Titan
  1. A 128GB SSD was a bad buy at any price above $0.
  2. What is the current configuration? Where is Windows now? Please post a screencap of your Disk Management window.
  3. Simply looking for fast boot time is a poor determinant to having an SSD. It is much more than that.

OrlyP

Reputable
Aug 20, 2020
^He's right. Personally, I wouldn't get an SSD smaller than 500GB... 1TB being the sweet spot.

Depending on a few things, you may be able to squeeze your current install of Windows into that 128GB SSD (118 GB formatted), but it's not going to be pretty, especially if you're not savvy with disk volumes and such.

So, my recommendation is to get a bigger SSD (bigger than your current Windows/boot HDD) then clone, disk-to-disk. Problem solved.

Feb 12, 2021
I did not install my SSD yet. The windows are in Local Disk C:
e1868a34192949a6ed2ed82bd2ee9f9553c43e13.png

Feb 12, 2021
so you're saying that 128GB is not good enough for windows? Because my plan for SSD is just for a fast boot up. I am not going to put any files in my SSD just windows that's my plan.

^He's right. Personally, I wouldn't get an SSD smaller than 500GB... 1TB being the sweet spot.