Question How do I monitor wireless users if my router won't allow me to?

xRaiiny

Prominent
Aug 24, 2019
Hello, first of all my english sucks when it comes to tech stuff so I may end up using wrong terms. And secondly, im just an amateur when it comes to this stuff.
To the subject: I want to see wireless users that are connected to the router. But I can't seem to be able to, I'm using the app "Wireless Network Watcher by Nirsoft" and it shows 1 user connected which is my PC (connected by ethernet cable) https://prnt.sc/uxdmly I went to the router configuration and I noticed this: https://prnt.sc/uxdlxt . What I concluded is that the router uses seperate "channels" for LAN and WiFi.
The question: How to see wireless users connected to my wifi without using a wifi adapter?

Not very likely that it uses 2 networks you would have massive issues trying to share files if it did.

Something is probably wrong with the tool you are using. All it is doing is running something like a ping scanner. It pretty much just attempts to ping all the addresses in the network and sees what responds. This does not always work if end device has stronger than normal firewall settings turned on. If for example this was a public network someone scanning for other device to attack so the device would be rigged to not respond.

Maybe try another tool, there are lots and lots of network scanners.

In the end though only the router can really see all the devices if high security options are being used. Since the device must talk to the router to get internet it can not hide from the router.

xRaiiny

Prominent
Aug 24, 2019
Not very likely that it uses 2 networks you would have massive issues trying to share files if it did.