ForHonor13

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2014
Hello Denizens of the OC Deep!
I seek your wisdom of the ages.

Random Context:
  • I have been building PCs for about 15~ years now as a side-job; with about 100-200 under my belt (mostly for gaming and lite production work).
  • I have limited OC experience, mostly on the much older Ivy CPUs. I apologize if parts of the information below are redundant or not required; I am a bit outside my comfort on this.
  • I only intend to use this for 'Intense' gaming and streaming; as well as lite Music Production via FLStudio.
PC Build:
  • CPU: i7-12700KF
  • Motherboard: MSI Z690A-PRO
  • CPU Voltage: 1.29V (CORE)
  • CPU Bus Speed/Multiplier: 100*49
  • Clock Speed: 4.8ghz (on Boost; without Boost it seems to hover around 3.8-4.2)
  • RAM: GSKILL DDR4 3600 16-19-19-39
  • Cooling: Watercooling Loop (MSI MAG P240)
  • GPU: XFX 6800XT
Whats Happening:
- Prior to BIOS UPDATE, the system would immediately throw CPU OVERHEATING error when booting into BIOS. After updating to most recent BIOS and enabling XMP (without MemoryTryIt override) it seems to be 'useable' in the sense I was able to install windows and drivers and some test applications. However, when doing PRETTY MUCH ANYTHING (loading a YT video, launching a game, downloading updates/steam items, etc) it will surge to 90C+ and start 'toggling' the Throttle as it will slingshot from 85>100+>90>100* etc; in XTU my graph almost looks like a heart-rythm... which is appropriate as I am 1 step short of a heart-attack if this thing cooks itself.

What I've Tried:
  • After watching a few YT videos on the 12700K (or anything 12th Gen+) it seems Intel threw TDP out the window? Many people seem to be experiencing power/voltage overdraw on these and advise Undervolting.