[SOLVED] In desperate need of help: PC won't boot and PSU clicks

Jul 11, 2021
So I connected the RAM, GPU, and CPU to the motherboard, connected the GPU and CPU to the PSU, and connected the PSU to the motherboard. I try to jump start it with a screwdriver but PC does not boot and there is a click sound.

PC Build:
  • CPU: Ryzen 7 3700x
  • Motherboard: ASRock B450M Pro4
  • RAM: G.Skill Aegis 16 GB (2x8) DDR4-3000
  • GPU: MSI GTX 1050 Ti 4 GB GAMING X
  • PSU: Corsair TXM Gold 650 W 80+ Gold

This is what happened in a video
I caught a glimpse of a light source here (from the video) but no idea where it came from exactly
And in case you want to see a picture without the light source
I also did a paper clip test here

Sorry about the dirt, messiness, background, and I appreciate any help!

I also heard from one my friends that it could be the motherboard has an older bios which my CPU doesn't work with (hopefully makes sense, I'm pretty new to this), just want to make sure if that's possible or we can rule that out.

Solution
If this is a brand new build, one of the more common errors made is failing to check the proper positions of all the STAND-OFFS under the mobo before installing. If you did that, review to be sure. If you don't know about it, post back here for details. This IS a common cause of a short circuit that disables the power to the mobo.

Another item that can cause a short is misuse of certain fans that come with BOTH a small female fan connector AND a wider 4-pin Molex connector on their wires.

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
If this is a brand new build, one of the more common errors made is failing to check the proper positions of all the STAND-OFFS under the mobo before installing. If you did that, review to be sure. If you don't know about it, post back here for details. This IS a common cause of a short circuit that disables the power to the mobo.