[SOLVED] Need help with settings for home network settings - TP Link Acess points

Aug 13, 2019
In a nutshell, my home network was too slow and not reaching certain points across the house. I bought two TP-Link AC1350 Access points off amazon and a POE switch.

The current setup is my BT router in the loft with the POE switch connected, and the two access points connected via ethernet in two different points of my house.

I don't think they are set up correctly as it doesn't seem to work as one network, rather two individual networks with the same SSID. Also, the speeds can be slower than when I didn't have the access points.

I have seen articles about changing DHCP settings, however, need someone to explain step by step what to do as I'm fairly new to networking. I don't know whether i need to change the settings on my BT router or the access points themselves.

I suppose the end goal is to have the access points acting so I have one SSID, which will automatically connect to the strongest one depending on where I am in the house.

Any help would be massively appreciated!

Solution
I suppose the end goal is to have the access points acting so I have one SSID, which will automatically connect to the strongest one depending on where I am in the house.

Unfortunately, consumer grade equipment can't really do that.

The end device is in control of the connection, not the router or AP.
And they are loath to give up a working connection, even if there is a 'stronger' one nearby.

Setup:
Router, AccessPoint A, and AccessPoint B.
Router in the middle, AP's at either end of the house.

You're at the north end, power up your laptop.
It connects to AP A no problem.
Walk through the house to the south end, near AP B.
So now B is the stronger connection, right?

The laptop...

USAFRet

Titan

Unfortunately, consumer grade equipment can't really do that.

The end device is in control of the connection, not the router or AP.