[SOLVED] RTX 2080 spiking above normal clock speed.

Oct 11, 2019
Hi,

So i posted on here yesterday regarding my games that continue to crash in my new rig. Im new to all of this.

I just tried to run ghost recon (new one) and as soon as the game tried to load my save, the game closed informing me i had exceeded the available memory on the GPU. (I was at 5/8GB for in game usage). I had GPU Z and Tweak II running in the background to make sure they were cataloguing the same thing.

I have not overclocked anything in this rig. According to the tweak software, the GPU is set to perform with a GPU speed of 1740Mhz (im guessing this means max?)
Yet when i played ghost recon and rocket legue, the GPU speed would go up to 1950Mhz.

According to ebuyer, looking at the specs on the gpu.

General
Core Clock1515 MHz
Boost Clock1770 MHz

Memory
Effective Clock Speed14000 MHz

When running GPU Z and TWEAK II, my GPU clock has gone up to 1950Mhz and a Memory clock of 1750Mhz.

I am a little lost on what to think or do, i just know things are not performing as they should and something has upset the PC.
We had crashes before, leading us to reformat all the drives and download windows. The problem needless to say has continued.

Thanks for any advice
J

Solution
GPU boost clocks and Memory are correct. The 1750 on MEM is x8, hence the rated 14000. Regarding GPU boost, it's all a bonus of sorts depending on power and temp conditions. They are just guaranteeing the 1770 at normalized gaming temps after card has warmed up when being fully utilized. For example, my 2080Ti boost to 2012Mhz in-game because of cooling I'm using. Boost rating is 1635 according to EVGA. This is with no adjustments.