[SOLVED] S.M.A.R.T Status Bad, Backup and Replace - SSD

Apr 19, 2024
Few hours ago, i found my two years old unused ssd and decided to use it for a faster system, i unplug my old hdd and plugs in my newly found ssd to the pm sata slot, with a bootable usb on the back of my pc and reinstalled windows in my ssd. after reinstalling, i then turn off the pc, and plugs back my hdd on the ps sata slot and boot up my pc. everything is going normal, until i decided to install all sort of software at the same time. (gpu & mouse driver, steam, chrome, audio player, etc etc. sounds stupid, i know.) and after a while, my pc started to froze and then goes into a black screen and then, i decided to restart the pc (just as you thought things won't go even dumber, it did). that's when i got an error saying : S.M.A.R.T Status Bad, Backup and Replace. Is there any possible way, without any cost but full effort i can repair my ssd? I don't have any money to buy a new ssd, Since i am currently a student and have no income (i don't want to burden my parents by asking them for too much allowance too). so is the only choice really is to save up and wait for months again? Someone please help me soon as possible. Any help would be really much much greatly appreciated by me. Thanks.

The potato specs :
Mobo : Asus P8h61m-lx r2.0
Processor : Intel Core I5-2500
Graphics : Dell R5 240 OEM
SSD (error, currently) : V-GEN SATA III 256gb
HDD (normal, a bit.) : Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 or was it .16?? 500gb
If a more detailed specs are needed, I'll look more into it.

Last edited by a moderator:

kanewolf

Titan