stacking tokens as they come into play?

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

this i'm playing built himself a deck that uses the stations from fifth
dawn. he'll get myr incubator in play, use it to get twenty something
tokens and then say that he can stack them so that they each will
activate a station. is this possible? i thought they came into play at
the same time. thanks for your help
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

spyderman80@webtv.net (J H) writes:
> this i'm playing built himself a deck that uses the stations from fifth
> dawn. he'll get myr incubator in play, use it to get twenty something
> tokens and then say that he can stack them so that they each will
> activate a station. is this possible? i thought they came into play at
> the same time. thanks for your help

They do all come into play at the same time. Assuming that it's a
station that has "Whenever a creature comes into play, untap ~this~"
(or the same but off an artifact coming into play instead), that
ability will trigger 20 times. Those triggers all go on the
stack. (The tokens themselves don't go on the stack in any way.) In
between each resolution, he can use the ability of the Station. This
means that he'll likely be able to use the Station 20 times.

Does that answer your question? Please post again if you need more
clarification or if you have more questions.

--
Peter C.
The generation of random numbers is too important to be left to chance.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Hello, J!
You wrote on Fri, 23 Jul 2004 07:43:47 -0500:

J> this i'm playing built himself a deck that uses the stations from
J> fifth
J> dawn. he'll get myr incubator in play, use it to get twenty
J> something
J> tokens and then say that he can stack them so that they each will
J> activate a station. is this possible? i thought they came into
J> play at
J> the same time. thanks for your help

They do come into play at the same time. But then the process becomes
more complicated:

1) Each token coming into play triggers the relevant Station's untap
ability (since the Myr tokens generated by Myr Incubator are artifact
creatures, they trigger both Blasting and Grinding Station), resulting
in many triggered abilities to be put on the stack the next time a
player would get priority.

2) The controller of those abilities chooses the order and puts them on
the stack. They do *not* resolve at the same time - you need both
players to pass in succession to resolve the topmost of them then the
active player get priority and has the chance to play spells and
abilities. That's how...

3) ...your opponent can play an ability (like tap the Blasting Station
and sacrifice a creature - one of those Myr tokens, for example - to
ping a creature or player). After that ability resolves, there are
still unresolved "untap Station" *triggered* abilities on the stack.

4) Your opponent waits until the next "untap Station" *triggered*
ability resolves (but you do have the chance to play something in
between - remember, it takes two passes in succession to resolve the top
of the stack) and then is free to use the Station's *activated* ability
again.

Regards,
Arkady.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Fri, 23 Jul 2004 07:43:47 -0500, J H <spyderman80@webtv.net> wrote:
>this i'm playing built himself a deck that uses the stations from fifth
>dawn. he'll get myr incubator in play, use it to get twenty something
>tokens and then say that he can stack them so that they each will
>activate a station. is this possible? i thought they came into play at
>the same time. thanks for your help

Each time an artifact (or artifact creature token) comes into play, Grinding
Station triggers; it'll trigger separately for each one, even if they all
appear at the same time. Blasting Station does the same thing but with
creatures (or artifact creature tokens). So yes, that works. The
twenty-some triggered abilities, assuming 20 artifact creature tokens appeared
at once through the Incubator, will all try to go on the stack at once, and
he'll get to order them as he wishes. (Which, if he has more than one Station
out, might actually make a difference, but all the triggered abilities from
one given Station are going to be alike, "untap this Station".)

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

so what you're saying is that since i'm playing red/white slide i should
get my damping matrix into play as soon as possible. i'm also thinking
of sideboarding in scrabbling claws to remove myr retrievers/servitors
he's using to power up his krark clan ironworks. but thank you for
clarifying this for me.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Fri, 23 Jul 2004 19:33:06 -0500, J H <spyderman80@webtv.net> wrote:
>so what you're saying is that since i'm playing red/white slide i should
>get my damping matrix into play as soon as possible.

Damping Matrix only stops activated abilities, not triggered abilities; it
doesn't stop the Stations from _un_tapping. It does, however, stop them
from _tapping_ via their activated abilities, so yes, it shuts down the
Machine fairly well.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 

TRENDING THREADS