[SOLVED] Upgrade time -- best value CPU for virtualization?

PanicMaster85

Distinguished
I want to virtualize a Mac, Windows, and Linux all at the same time with very good performance. I am a developer so the multi-platform compatibility on a single computer is a must. I will be using a Radeon R580 as passthrough to the Mac, GTX 1060 for windows, and hopefully onboard graphics for linux. I want to given all machines superb processing power (8 threads).

In addition to this I need DDR4 memory and a solid amount at that, probably at least 8-16 GB between windows and mac and then 4-8 for linux; linux will primarily be a host and background services server.

My case is only compatible with a micro-atx board, and only has 4 extension slots. I like the small form-factor so micro-atx is also a must.

Finally, I have fidelio X2 headphones that I use frequently. I don't need anything special, but some sort of integrate sound system would be very nice.

This all fitting in a micro-atx with no extra connection is also a must because I'm on the move frequently.

Assume that money is mostly not a concern (CPU ~400 used).

to summarize:
24-32GB DDR4 RAM

micro atx board with...
- 2x PCI-e
- some sort of integrate sound capable of driving a fidelio X2 heaphones

CPU with at least 16 threads and ideally 24 threas.

thanks ;)

Solution
For virtualization I would suggest Ryzen.
Running a VM for Linux seems redundant, since the best way to do things would be to run Linux natively as your main OS with the other OS being virtualized, and running graphics passthrough so you still get the performance of your GPU in the VM's. But you pretty much stated that's what you will do.

I would suggest for mATX Ryzen and not something like Threadripper or Epyc because you'll have a hard time finding an mATX board for that.

You can get either a B550 or an X570 motherboard and a Ryzen 9 3000 series CPU, or wait a bit until the 4000 series comes out and try to get 3000 series for a bit cheaper.