[SOLVED] Windows 10 won't boot on AHCI without first switching to IDE on BIOS, then back to AHCI

Oct 20, 2021
Please I need someone to save me because this is making me go insane. (I'm using Windows 10 Pro 21H1)

I'm no computer expert but recently a friend suggested I buy an SSD and install my OS on it to improve my PC's performance. He works in tech so he helped me set everything up by sending me the instructions.

I installed the SSD, installed Win10 Pro on it, kept my HDD as storage and everything was fine and dandy. I turned off my computer and the first time I went to turn it on after installing Win10, it wouldn't boot. As in my BIOS logo would appear, and then my monitor would say it had no input so it entered power saving mode.

After messing around in BIOS many times, this is what worked (and please stay with me through this mess):

First I have to turn on the PC and access the BIOS. I go to the Storage configuration and change the mode to IDE.

I then wait for my computer to rboot and let it go to a Windows error screen that says INNACCESIBLE BOOT DEVICE.

When it reboots again I ONCE AGAIN access my BIOS and switch the mode to AHCI again. Now my computer boots Win10 succesfully.

Let me also clarify a couple things:

This issue doesn't come up when rebooting the computer, only after turning it off and then on again.
When I first access the BIOS after turning it on, it's in AHCI mode, and my SSD is recognized as AHCI. But when I go back to BIOS to change from IDE back to AHCI again, my SSD is recognized as SATA.

I have updated my BIOS, every single driver in my computer (including Intel Sata chipset), and nothing seems to fix this.

Thank you in advance!

PS: I have tried doing the registry change thing from 3 to 0, and booting into safe mode then rebooting with AHCI enabled and nothing has worked.

Solution
Okay so something else fixed my issue, I'm sharing it here in case someone comes by the same issue, since it's a pretty easy fix.