Question I have r9 290x that seems to be giving errors from the vBIOS possibly corrupted, can I simply switch the bios and see if that one works?

angwww

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2016
Zero's on your GPU-Z screenie. Just to make sure you're seeing Error Code 43 on Device Manager. Your GPU's a goner. If you want to flash the VBIOS on your GPU, you should make sure it's the exact one that matches your SKU on your GPU.

Try this;
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/148519/sapphire-r9290x-4096-130930-1
it's the same VBIOS revision number as shown in your GPU-Z screenie.
I think my GPU is a reference sapphire r9 290x, shouldn't I use the latest one of that type I thought you had to do that I'm a total noob in flashing, I'm trying to fix this if possible but yeah

I'm not really sure how to tell if I got error code 43, I managed to install the driver in forced safe boot via dedit default safe boot, but it would crash straight away after I tried to boot it the normal way

Last edited:
I think my GPU is a reference sapphire r9 290x
It could be or not your fix with that Error Code 43.

On the older AMD "reference" cards with Windows 10 plus newer drivers AMD kicked those reference card from letting the drivers install as AMD kicked out modded GPU bios.

But the kicker was the reference cards bios were factory.

I delt with this on a RX 480 reference that did the code 43.

I saved the hacks that needs to be installed on computer to let the driver move forward. Been a couple of years so might need dig where I put it.

That RX 480 with the solution from wherever I got it from back in 2019 or 20 is still cursing along just fine.

Reactions: angwww

angwww

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2016
It could be or not your fix with that Error Code 43.

On the older AMD "reference" cards with Windows 10 plus newer drivers AMD kicked those reference card from letting the drivers install as AMD kicked out modded GPU bios.

But the kicker was the reference cards bios were factory.