[SOLVED] Thinking of upgrading my CPU, Not sure what to do.

lordtristan28

Reputable
Feb 4, 2018
Hello! Before i get into my title, I wanted to say that i'm a student and with no job (yet) and want to upgrade my CPU on the cheaper side without having to switch out my motherboard or ram.
Right now i have a "Phenom II X4 840T " Its unlocked from 4 cores to 6 cores with 3.24ghz overclocked, its a nice CPU and next year will be onto its 10th birthday :) But after upgrading my graphics card from a rx 560 to a rx 590 i have noticed my cpu being the massive bottleneck, Now i know without a huge upgrade to something like ryzen, I wont be able to remove that bottleneck. But i wanna see if i can upgrade to something better to just hold me off until i get a job and am able to save up the 500$ to get a upgrade to ryzen, (CPU, Ram, Motherboard).

I was looking up the List of Phenom II x4 chips, And i see this list on Wikipedia of all the Phenom II x4 chips. My cpu is on the list listed as a "OEM" part, This makes sense. Anyways. I see the next cpu down is the "Phenom II X4 960T " and "Phenom II X4 960T Black Edition" I looked up both chips and tried to see a difference between my cpu and either of the cpus, And it does seem to be quite better! Multi core and single core is overall better. But i don't know if this is the best CPU for me.

I found ebay listings for both the 960t and they both seem quite fairly priced. About 50-60$ (cad) for either.

So i guess my question is, What would be a good cpu upgrade? I like the 960t because it has 2 cores disabled, Which means i can unlock those cores and have a 6 core cpu, (Like what i have now), My Motherboard is a MSI gaming 970 am3/am3+ motherboard, With 12gb of ddr3 ram running at 1333 mhz. The cooler is a decent little thing, That can run the 95w tdp 840t, So i dont think it will have a issue with the 125w tdp 960t!

Thanks for all the help! I'm hoping that i gave enough information.

Solution