Question Building first PC - storage advice?

Jun 22, 2022
Hello, I am building my first PC with the main purpose of using it for 3D Animation (modelling, rigging, animation and a bit of rendering), and a secondary purpose of some gaming and am looking at which components will fit me best. I'm very new to this so have been doing some research and for my storage I am thinking of an HDD for files I'm not currently using (animation files I've completed/moved on from etc and any other general files), a NVMe for current files and programs such as Maya, Blender, Adobe programs and games, and finally another drive for my OS (Windows) as i've heard it is good to have this on a separate drive. I would really appreciate any thoughts on this and if this sounds good or not - again I'm just learning so I thank you for any input. My budget isn't too big, probably around £1500-£1750 for all the main components, but I believe the principle will probably be the same. Any advice on suggested storage size of each would be great too:) Thanks in advance!

I'd just go with a NVMe SSD + HDD setup. No reason to have an OS-only drive.

Capacity-wise, you'll be the best judge of that. How many GB of files are you generally keeping in active/SSD storage? How many GB of files do you currently have for archival/HDD.

Having a separate OS drive is old advice, back when SSDs were expensive and easy to fill up.
I would agree, NVME (of whatever size you need for your games, OS, and animation files) and an HDD or SATA SSD (of whatever size for long term bulk storage).

punkncat

Polypheme
Ambassador