end phase...

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

at the recent fifth dawn prerelease i was witness to a decision that
just doesn't seem right to me, so i'm hoping for some clarification. i
just want to understand the logic.

a player had a Chimeric Coils (Artifact 1 casting cost Activation cost
X 1: Chimeric Coils becomes an X/X artifact creature. Sacrifice it at
end of turn. ) in play. his opponent announces that he is done with
his turn. the player with the Chimeric Coils announces that during the
end phase of the current turn he is going to tap 7 mana to activate the
Chimeric Coils (making a 6/6 creature that must be sacrificed at the
end of turn.) he then proceeded to begin his turn. shouldn't the
chimeric coils have been sacrificed prior to the start of his turn? end
of turn means end of turn, right? if he did this during the other
players turn then at the end of that players turn the Coils should have
gone to the graveyard.

i just do not understand.

-Cannibal-
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Cannibal <cannibal@cox.net> wrote:

> at the recent fifth dawn prerelease i was witness to a decision that
> just doesn't seem right to me, so i'm hoping for some clarification. i
> just want to understand the logic.
>
> a player had a Chimeric Coils (Artifact 1 casting cost Activation cost
> X 1: Chimeric Coils becomes an X/X artifact creature. Sacrifice it at
> end of turn. ) in play. his opponent announces that he is done with
> his turn. the player with the Chimeric Coils announces that during the
> end phase of the current turn he is going to tap 7 mana to activate the
> Chimeric Coils (making a 6/6 creature that must be sacrificed at the
> end of turn.) he then proceeded to begin his turn. shouldn't the
> chimeric coils have been sacrificed prior to the start of his turn? end
> of turn means end of turn, right? if he did this during the other
> players turn then at the end of that players turn the Coils should have
> gone to the graveyard.

313. End of Turn Step

313.1. As the end of turn step begins, all abilities that trigger "at
end of turn" go on the stack. (See rule 410, "Handling Triggered
Abilities.") Then the active player gets priority and players may play
spells and abilities.

313.2. If "at end of turn"-triggered abilities are created or if cards
with "at end of turn"-triggered abilities come into play after
preexisting ones have already gone on the stack at the beginning of the
end of turn step, those abilities won't go on the stack until the next
turn's end phase. In other words, the step doesn't "back up" so new "at
end of turn"-triggered abilities can go on the stack. This only applies
to triggered abilities that say "at end of turn." It doesn't apply to
continuous effects whose durations say "until end of turn" or "this
turn." (See rule 314, "Cleanup Step.")

An "at end of turn" trigger will trigger at the start of the end phase.
If the trigger is created after that time (i.e., after the START of the
end phase), it can't trigger until the next time an end phase starts,
i.e., in the end phase of the next turn. This has been true for at
least five years.
--
Daniel W. Johnson
panoptes@iquest.net
http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Fri, 28 May 2004 00:45:08 -0400, Cannibal <cannibal@cox.net> wrote:
>at the recent fifth dawn prerelease i was witness to a decision that
>just doesn't seem right to me, so i'm hoping for some clarification. i
>just want to understand the logic.

Okay.

>a player had a Chimeric Coils (Artifact 1 casting cost Activation cost
>X 1: Chimeric Coils becomes an X/X artifact creature. Sacrifice it at
>end of turn.)

Since this question's about End phase from the subject? This happens _before_
"until end of turn" effects wear off. "At end of turn" stuff triggers as End
phase's end-of-turn step starts; "until end of turn" stuff lasts until cleanup
step.

>in play. his opponent announces that he is done with
>his turn. the player with the Chimeric Coils announces that during the
>end phase of the current turn he is going to tap 7 mana to activate the
>Chimeric Coils (making a 6/6 creature that must be sacrificed at the
>end of turn.) he then proceeded to begin his turn. shouldn't the
>chimeric coils have been sacrificed prior to the start of his turn?

Nope. When does the delayed triggered ability, created on resolution of the
Coils ability, trigger? "At end of turn". Which is to say, as End phase
_starts_. If he activated it _during_ End phase, we are already past the one
time this turn this could trigger; it will wait around and trigger next time
an End phase starts - end of _his_ turn.

>end of turn means end of turn, right?

Depends. Is it "at end of turn", or "until end of turn"? One is a triggered
ability, the other is a duration. Or is it "End phase", which is a phase, or
"end of turn step", which is step 1 in that phase? GOTTA specify.

>i just do not understand.

You're thinking that this is somehow instead "becomes an X/X creature until
end of turn. Sacrifice it when it stops being a creature", which _would_ act
the way you're thinking (and would cause at least two Cleanup steps that turn
in the process).

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Cannibal <cannibal@cox.net> sent:
> at the recent fifth dawn prerelease i was witness to a decision that
> just doesn't seem right to me, so i'm hoping for some clarification. i
> just want to understand the logic.

> a player had a Chimeric Coils (Artifact 1 casting cost Activation cost
> X 1: Chimeric Coils becomes an X/X artifact creature. Sacrifice it at
> end of turn. ) in play. his opponent announces that he is done with
> his turn. the player with the Chimeric Coils announces that during the
> end phase of the current turn he is going to tap 7 mana to activate the
> Chimeric Coils (making a 6/6 creature that must be sacrificed at the
> end of turn.) he then proceeded to begin his turn. shouldn't the
> chimeric coils have been sacrificed prior to the start of his turn? end
> of turn means end of turn, right? if he did this during the other
> players turn then at the end of that players turn the Coils should have
> gone to the graveyard.

> i just do not understand.

Things that trigger 'at end of turn' trigger and go onto the stack at
the beginning of the 'end of turn' step.

Things that last 'until end of turn' wear off in the 'cleanup' step.

The 'cleanup' step is after the 'end of turn' step, both in the 'end'
phase.

If something creates a trigger that will trigger at end of turn, and
does so in the end of turn step, then that trigger will wait until the
next end of turn step.

So, what happens in the situation above is roughly as follows:

End of turn step
Chimeric Coils becomes a creature until end of turn
At the beginning of the next end of turn step, sacrifice Chimeric Coils
Cleanup step
Chimeric Coils stops being a creature

Next turn
End of turn step
"Sacrifice Chimeric Coils" goes on the stack

Basically, this player spent 7 mana for very little purpose.

--
-- zoe
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Fri, 28 May 2004, Zoe Stephenson wrote:

> Cannibal <cannibal@cox.net> sent:
> > at the recent fifth dawn prerelease i was witness to a decision that
> > just doesn't seem right to me, so i'm hoping for some clarification. i
> > just want to understand the logic.
>
> > a player had a Chimeric Coils (Artifact 1 casting cost Activation cost
> > X 1: Chimeric Coils becomes an X/X artifact creature. Sacrifice it at
> > end of turn. ) in play. his opponent announces that he is done with
> > his turn. the player with the Chimeric Coils announces that during the
> > end phase of the current turn he is going to tap 7 mana to activate the
> > Chimeric Coils (making a 6/6 creature that must be sacrificed at the
> > end of turn.) he then proceeded to begin his turn. shouldn't the
> > chimeric coils have been sacrificed prior to the start of his turn? end
> > of turn means end of turn, right? if he did this during the other
> > players turn then at the end of that players turn the Coils should have
> > gone to the graveyard.
>
> > i just do not understand.
>
> Things that trigger 'at end of turn' trigger and go onto the stack at
> the beginning of the 'end of turn' step.
>
> Things that last 'until end of turn' wear off in the 'cleanup' step.
>
> The 'cleanup' step is after the 'end of turn' step, both in the 'end'
> phase.
>
> If something creates a trigger that will trigger at end of turn, and
> does so in the end of turn step, then that trigger will wait until the
> next end of turn step.
>
> So, what happens in the situation above is roughly as follows:
>
> End of turn step
> Chimeric Coils becomes a creature until end of turn
> At the beginning of the next end of turn step, sacrifice Chimeric Coils
> Cleanup step
> Chimeric Coils stops being a creature
>
> Next turn
> End of turn step
> "Sacrifice Chimeric Coils" goes on the stack
>
> Basically, this player spent 7 mana for very little purpose.

Chimeric Coils
{1}
Artifact
{X}{1}: ~this~ becomes an X/X artifact creature. Sacrifice it at end
of turn.

It doesn't say it only stays a creature until end of turn, so the
purpose isn't as little as you thought.
--

David
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

David de Kloet <dskloet@cs.vu.nl> sent:
> On Fri, 28 May 2004, Zoe Stephenson wrote:
>> Basically, this player spent 7 mana for very little purpose.

> Chimeric Coils
> {1}
> Artifact
> {X}{1}: ~this~ becomes an X/X artifact creature. Sacrifice it at end
> of turn.

> It doesn't say it only stays a creature until end of turn, so the
> purpose isn't as little as you thought.

Pah. Teach me to answer the question without having the card text right
in front of me. Ignore all that until end of turn stuff for this
particular example, but bear it in mind as the Big Difference for cards
that do say such things. And apologies to Dave who will now have to
follow up and slap me for it, for that is his job...

--
-- zoe
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

In article <slrncbdl4r.6no.dbd@gatekeeper.vic.com>, David DeLaney
<dbd@gatekeeper.vic.com> wrote:

> On Fri, 28 May 2004 00:45:08 -0400, Cannibal <cannibal@cox.net> wrote:
> >at the recent fifth dawn prerelease i was witness to a decision that
> >just doesn't seem right to me, so i'm hoping for some clarification. i
> >just want to understand the logic.
>
> Okay.
>
> >a player had a Chimeric Coils (Artifact 1 casting cost Activation cost
> >X 1: Chimeric Coils becomes an X/X artifact creature. Sacrifice it at
> >end of turn.)
>
> Since this question's about End phase from the subject? This happens _before_
> "until end of turn" effects wear off. "At end of turn" stuff triggers as End
> phase's end-of-turn step starts; "until end of turn" stuff lasts until cleanup
> step.
>
> >in play. his opponent announces that he is done with
> >his turn. the player with the Chimeric Coils announces that during the
> >end phase of the current turn he is going to tap 7 mana to activate the
> >Chimeric Coils (making a 6/6 creature that must be sacrificed at the
> >end of turn.) he then proceeded to begin his turn. shouldn't the
> >chimeric coils have been sacrificed prior to the start of his turn?
>
> Nope. When does the delayed triggered ability, created on resolution of the
> Coils ability, trigger? "At end of turn". Which is to say, as End phase
> _starts_. If he activated it _during_ End phase, we are already past the one
> time this turn this could trigger; it will wait around and trigger next time
> an End phase starts - end of _his_ turn.
>
> >end of turn means end of turn, right?
>
> Depends. Is it "at end of turn", or "until end of turn"? One is a triggered
> ability, the other is a duration. Or is it "End phase", which is a phase, or
> "end of turn step", which is step 1 in that phase? GOTTA specify.
>
> >i just do not understand.
>
> You're thinking that this is somehow instead "becomes an X/X creature until
> end of turn. Sacrifice it when it stops being a creature", which _would_ act
> the way you're thinking (and would cause at least two Cleanup steps that turn
> in the process).
>
> Dave

to make sure that i am clear on this...

if i use an aether vial during my opponents end phase and cast a Ball
Lightning... the ball lightning will not have to be sacrificed until
the end up my turn that is about to start.

this would also work for lightning coils (not the aether vial part) and
the chimeric egg, right?

-Cannibal-
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Cannibal <cannibal@cox.net> wrote:

> if i use an aether vial during my opponents end phase and cast a Ball
> Lightning... the ball lightning will not have to be sacrificed until
> the end up my turn that is about to start.

AEther Vial
{1}
Artifact
At the beginning of your upkeep, you may put a charge counter on AEther
Vial.
{T}: You may put a creature card with converted mana cost equal to the
number of charge counters on AEther Vial from your hand into play.

Ball Lightning
{R}{R}{R}
Creature -- Ball-Lightning
6/1
Trample; haste
At end of turn, sacrifice Ball Lightning.

Cast (Obsolete)
Some older cards used the term "cast" to describe the playing of a
spell. In general, cards that were printed with the term "cast" now use
the term "play."

I see nothing that would let you *cast* a Ball Lightning on your
opponent's turn. Nor do I see any reference to "until". But rule 313.2
applies to the trigger on Ball Lightning:

313.2. If "at end of turn"-triggered abilities are created or if cards
with "at end of turn"-triggered abilities come into play after
preexisting ones have already gone on the stack at the beginning of the
end of turn step, those abilities won't go on the stack until the next
turn's end phase. In other words, the step doesn't "back up" so new "at
end of turn"-triggered abilities can go on the stack. This only applies
to triggered abilities that say "at end of turn." It doesn't apply to
continuous effects whose durations say "until end of turn" or "this
turn." (See rule 314, "Cleanup Step.")

> this would also work for lightning coils (not the aether vial part) and
> the chimeric egg, right?

No.

Lightning Coils
{3}
Artifact
Whenever a nontoken creature you control is put into a graveyard from
play, put a charge counter on Lightning Coils.
At the beginning of your upkeep, if Lightning Coils has five or more
charge counters on it, remove all of them from it and put that many 3/1
red Elemental creature tokens with haste into play. Remove them from the
game at end of turn.

Lightning Coils can not create an "at end of turn"-triggered ability in
the end phase.

Chimeric Egg
{3}
Artifact
Whenever an opponent plays a nonartifact spell, put a charge counter on
Chimeric Egg.
Remove three charge counters from Chimeric Egg: Chimeric Egg becomes a
6/6 artifact creature with trample until end of turn.

I see no "at end of turn"-triggered ability here.
--
Daniel W. Johnson
panoptes@iquest.net
http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Fri, 28 May 2004 12:21:41 -0400, Cannibal <cannibal@cox.net> wrote:

Ball Lightning
{R}{R}{R}
Creature -- Ball-Lightning
6/1
Trample; haste
At end of turn, sacrifice Ball Lightning.

AEther Vial
{1}
Artifact
At the beginning of your upkeep, you may put a charge counter on
AEther Vial.
{T}: You may put a creature card with converted mana cost equal to the
number of charge counters on AEther Vial from your hand into play.

Lightning Coils
{3}
Artifact
Whenever a nontoken creature you control is put into a graveyard from
play, put a charge counter on ~this~.
At the beginning of your upkeep, if ~this~ has five or more charge
counters on it, remove all of them from it and put that many 3/1 red
Elemental creature tokens with haste into play. Remove them from the
game at end of turn.

Chimeric Egg
{3}
Artifact
Whenever an opponent plays a nonartifact spell, put a charge counter
on Chimeric Egg.
Remove three charge counters from Chimeric Egg: Chimeric Egg becomes a
6/6 artifact creature with trample until end of turn.

>to make sure that i am clear on this...
>
>if i use an aether vial during my opponents end phase and cast a Ball
>Lightning... the ball lightning will not have to be sacrificed until
>the end up my turn that is about to start.

You don't use AEther Vial to cast (correct word; play) your creature,
AEther Vial puts it into play - not too important here, but think
Phage...

Anyway, a Ball Lightning that comes into play during your opponents
end of turn step, won't self-sac untill the beginning of the next end
of turn step (your eot step, unless we are talking multiplayer).

>this would also work for lightning coils (not the aether vial part) and
>the chimeric egg, right?

I don't see how you want the Coils to put anything into play during
the end of turn step, as it says "At the beginning of your upkeep,
if...". But if somehow it did, then yes - the token creatures would
stay untill your end of turn.

On the other hand, you can animate the Egg during the opponents end of
turn step, but its duration says "until end of turn", not "at end of
turn", and thus it stops during the cleanup step, and will under no
circumstances stay animated into your turn (on its own that is, March
of Machines...).

Try to reread Mr. DeLaney's reply (too many Davids in this group :) -
this difference between "AT eot" and "UNTILL eot" is just what is
causing you problems - former is a trigger, latter is a duration.

This should be the important parts of the comprehensive rules:

312. End Phase

312.1. The end phase consists of two steps: end of turn and cleanup.

313. End of Turn Step

313.1. As the end of turn step begins, all abilities that trigger "at
end of turn" go on the stack. (See rule 410, "Handling Triggered
Abilities.") Then the active player gets priority and players may play
spells and abilities.

313.2. If "at end of turn"-triggered abilities are created or if cards
with "at end of turn"-triggered abilities come into play after
preexisting ones have already gone on the stack at the beginning of
the end of turn step, those abilities won't go on the stack until the
next turn's end phase. In other words, the step doesn't "back up" so
new "at end of turn"-triggered abilities can go on the stack. This
only applies to triggered abilities that say "at end of turn." It
doesn't apply to continuous effects whose durations say "until end of
turn" or "this turn." (See rule 314, "Cleanup Step.")

314. Cleanup Step

314.1. If the active player's hand contains more cards than his or her
maximum hand size (normally seven), he or she discards enough cards to
reduce the hand size to that number (this game action doesn't use the
stack).

314.2 Simultaneously, all damage is removed from permanents and all
"until end of turn" and "this turn" effects end (this game action
doesn't use the stack).

314.3 If the conditions for any state-based effects exist or if any
triggered abilities are waiting to be put onto the stack, the active
player gets priority and players may play spells and abilities. Once
the stack is empty and both players pass, another cleanup step begins.
Otherwise, no player receives priority and the step ends.


In short:

"AT eot" triggers at the beginning of the end of turn step, and if any
new "AT eot" triggers are created they have to wait untill next turn.

"UNTILL eot" effects stop during the cleanup step, and if any new
"UNTILL eot" effects are created during the cleanup step (actually if
anything happens during the cleanup step), then there will be an extra
cleanup step that ends those new effects.

--
Regards
Simon Nejmann
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Cannibal <cannibal@cox.net> wrote:
>> You're thinking that this is somehow instead "becomes an X/X creature until
>> end of turn. Sacrifice it when it stops being a creature", which _would_ act
>> the way you're thinking (and would cause at least two Cleanup steps that turn
>> in the process).
>
>to make sure that i am clear on this...
>
>if i use an aether vial during my opponents end phase and cast a Ball
>Lightning... the ball lightning will not have to be sacrificed until
>the end up my turn that is about to start.

Correct.

>this would also work for lightning coils (not the aether vial part) and
>the chimeric egg, right?

Chimeric Egg: no. That has a duration of "until end of turn", completely
different from a triggered ability that triggers "at end of turn". "Until
end of turn" wears off as Cleanup starts, and it's Not Possible to exit a
turn with any such duration-effect still in effect.

Lightning Coils: Yes (it's a delayed "at end of turn" triggered ability),
BUT you can't get the tokens _into_ play at that time. The ability that
makes them triggers at the beginning of your upkeep, so they ALWAYS appear
during your upkeep.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Zoe Stephenson <zrs1@uk.ac.york.reversed> wrote:
>> Chimeric Coils 1 Artifact
>> X1: ~ becomes an X/X artifact creature. Sacrifice it at end of turn.
>
>> It doesn't say it only stays a creature until end of turn, so the
>> purpose isn't as little as you thought.
>
>Pah. Teach me to answer the question without having the card text right
>in front of me. Ignore all that until end of turn stuff for this
>particular example, but bear it in mind as the Big Difference for cards
>that do say such things. And apologies to Dave who will now have to
>follow up and slap me for it, for that is his job...

Not gonna slap, as I narrowly missed making the same mistake myself, for the
same reason, "knowing how that sort of thing works" and not looking at the
actual card in question. Chimeric _Staff_ is the one with the "until end of
turn" duration (as is Testament of Faith), and until we get used to the Coils
being different we'll naturally flash back to the older card(s) we already
know...

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.