Question External Wall Powered HDD’s will not power up (spinning or nothing). Haven’t been used in a very long time and haven’t moved much. #nottechsavvy

Apr 9, 2024
So I used to DJ quite a bit back in the day….I have two Seagate Wall Powered External Harddrives and Two LaCie Wall Powered External Harddrives

These drives haven’t been on for at least 8 years. I try to plug them in and nothing. They don’t power on or anything. Tried different cables, different power cables and switched it around.

These drives haven’t been powered up in a long time. Is it just the actual power supply that is damaged or the enclosure or the port where the cable goes or did I lose my data. And Yes, both originals and backups are not powering up. Any help would be amazing. I just hope all my music isn’t lost on there. Like I said, they haven’t been powered on in close to a decade.

Thanks

Update: Extremely faint burning smell when plugged in. I am not tech savvy so please explain in Laymen’s Terms. As long as data is recoverable, I’ll find money to fix

Apr 9, 2024
It sounds like you may have used the wrong adaptor. It should be 12V, centre positive. If you have used a 19V laptop adaptor, then ...

TVS Diode FAQ:

http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=100&t=86
Yea…because I have multiple powered adapters for different things.

Question. This is the power supply needed for one of the drives.

(https://www.lacie.com/support/kb/identifying-my-power-supply-007356en/

Do I have to make sure all of those numbers match exactly or can like the output or volts or amp be more? Does it have to meet the exact specifications?

And in short….basically all I need to do is switch out the power supply? Sorry not real good with technical terms. Thanks man.

Your Lacie drive appears to be using a 5V supply. Is it a 2.5" model, or 3.5"?

In any case, you need to remove the drives from their enclosures.

As for your other questions, read my FAQ. The chances of a full DIY recovery are usually very good.